LibGuides: ESL Resources for Teachers: Listening

Find Resources at Gumberg Library

Image is licensed under a CC 2.0 by Heinrich Böll Stiftung

Relevant Databases

Find eBooks & Articles

ERIC
Many full-text education literature and resources.

ProQuest Education Journals
745 top educational publications, many in full text.

Teacher Reference Center
Journals and books on education literature and resources.

EBSCO eBook Collection
Digital full-text reference works, scholarly books, and more.

eBrary
Over 70,000 full-text electronic books.

More Classroom Materials

Get More Resources @ CLP

The public library has more books, music, films, magazines, audiobooks, e-books, e-magazines, and ESL kits to use in class

Books in Gumberg Library: Listening

Helpful Searches:

English language -- Textbooks for foreign speakers

English language -- Study and teaching -- Audio-visual aids.

Second language acquisition -- Audio-visual aids.

Interchange by Jack C. Richards
Publication Date: 2012
For adult and young-adult learners of American English. Offers updated content in every unit, grammar practice, and opportunities to develop speaking and listening skills. Features contemporary topics and a strong focus on accuracy and fluency. Its successful multi-skills syllabus integrates themes, grammar, functions, vocabulary, and pronunciation.
Four Corners by Jack C. Richards; David Bohlke
Publication Date: 2011
English course for adults and young adults covers grammar, vocabulary, and functional language. The twelve units cover high-interest topics such as daily life, work and play, food, experiences, and celebrations. Multiple speaking activities in every lesson are tied to measurable outcomes. Additional 'Keep Talking' activities help students develop fluency. Includes CD-ROM.
Using Authentic Video in the Language Classroom by Jane Sherman
Publication Date: 2003
Using film and video in the classroom is motivating and fun but can be daunting for the teacher. This book guides and supports teachers with plenty of practical suggestions for activities which can be used with drama, soap opera, comedy, sports programmes and documentaries. Many of the activities will lend themselves for use with DVD and webcasts.
Operations in English by Gayle Nelson
Publication Date: 1993
An operation is a pair work activity in which students communicate naturally to accomplish a set task step by step. The students try to use language accurately. One gives instructions very clearly; the other follows them exactly. If the first student makes a mistake, the result is usually funny as well as instructive. The activity is effective both in building conversation skills and as a game.

ESL Podcasts

Listen to ESL Podcasts

Click on the link below to see the transcript. Then, click on the Listen button under the title. Includes a slow dialog, explanations of vocabulary, and the dialog at normal speed.

Online Listening Resources

ManyThings Listening Activities
Many listening activities, including dictation and cloze quizzes.
Voice of America Podcasts
Podcasts on many topics, includes transcript.
American English: Read & Listen Stories
After choosing a story, click on the PDF and audio file on the right side
Talk English Listening Activities
Listen to dialogues and answer questions about them. Includes transcript.
Using English: Listening
Offers links to listening activities, lesson ideas, handouts, etc.
Randall's ESL Listening Cafe
Listening quizzes and activities.
English Listening
Listening activities at all levels with different accents. Includes comprehension check.
Voice of America: News
Stories with video and audio.
Randall's ESL Listening Quizzes
Scroll down to see many listening quizzes at different levels.
Real English Videos
Get interviews with English speakers (tagged with level) and comprehension activities.
Easy World of English: Listening
Choose level on the right side, select an article, and click the media player on the right side to listen.

ESL Resources for Teachers: Listening