Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

eBook Collections: Collections

gumberg

 

Check out our interactive tutorial to learn how to access eBooks from eBrary and the eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)

Gumberg Library Quick Links

eBook Collections

Books Within These Collections Can Be Read Online or On eReaders.

Some of the links connect to resources that are only available to current Duquesne University students, faculty, and staff. These resources will require your Duquesne University ID number or MultiPass credentials if you are working off-campus. If you are working from on campus, the resource will be opened automatically.

  • Acta Sanctorum - A collection of books examining the lives of saints
     
  • Bible Study Tools - Over 30 Bible translations, plus commentaries, encyclopedias, and more
     
  • Bibliotheca Philosophica IntraText - Books from various philosophers
     
  • Books at Ovid - More than 400 books relevant to the health sciences
     
  • Chadwyck-Healey Literature Collections - Includes a wide variety of literature collections including drama, fiction, poetry, and prose
     
  • Christian Classics Ethereal Library - Christian Classics Ethereal Library includes hundreds of classic Christian books
     
  • CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics - Most current edition.
     
  • eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) - Digital full text versions of books such as reference works, scholarly monographs, literature and fiction, and 3,400 publicly-accessible titles
     
  • ebrary - Collection of over 70,000 full-text electronic books; follow these directions to download books onto an iPad or as a mobile app, available for Android, iPhone, and iPod touch
     
  • FORENSICnetBASE - Books in the forensic sciences and law enforcement
     
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library - Encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research
     
  • Google Books - Contains a large collection of public domain books in full text, as well as previews of newer works
     
  • Guide to Reference - Selective guide to reference sources, organized by academic discipline
     
  • Hathi Trust - An international partnership of major research institutions and libraries, offers access to almost 10 million volumes
     
  • Internet Archive - Access public domain books electronically, as well as video, audio files, software, and archived web pages
     
  • Legal Reference Materials - Allows users to "Search the News, "Look Up A Case", "Get Company Information", and "Research People"; by clicking on the "Sources" tab users can access dictionaries and encyclopedias
     
  • Library of Latin Texts - Numerous Latin texts and books
     
  • Literature Online (LION) - 350,000+ works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, and reference resources
     
  • Many Books - Over 29,000 free eBooks available for Kindle, Nook, iPad, and most other eReaders
     
  • Mental Measurements Yearbook - Guide to 2,000+ contemporary testing instruments from Volume 9 to present; the older editions available on Gumberg Library's 4th floor
     
  • The Merck Manuals - Enhanced online version of the Merck series of healthcare books for medical professionals, patients and caregivers, pet owners, chemists, and veterinarians
     
  • National Academies Press (NAP) - PDF versions of over 4,000 books published by NAP available free of charge to users who sign up for MyNAP
     
  • Oxford Biblical Studies Online - Contains 6 Bible texts, 2 commentaries, and over 6,000 Oxford reference entries
     
  • Oxford Digital Reference Shelf - Electronic editions of Oxford's reference titles
     
  • Oxford Music Online - Includes The New Grove Dictionary of Music and MusiciansThe New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz
     
  • Past Masters - Humanities titles that are usually complete works of individual authors
     
  • Patrologiae Graecae - Migne's Patrologiae Graecae; contains 160+ volumes of material relevant to the history of the Christian Church
     
  • Patrologia Latina Database - Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216
     
  • Perseus Digital Library - Ancient texts in classical languages
     
  • Project Gutenberg - Over 40,000 free eBooks that can downloaded (ePub or Kindle) or read online
     
  • PsychiatryOnline - From the American Psychiatric Association (APA); features DSM-IV-TR and 10+ psychiatry books
     
  • PubMed Bookshelf - Access books and documents concerning life science and health care
     
  • Sage eReference -Includes electronic encyclopedias covering many subjects including education, health and social welfare, and research methods and evaluation
     
  • ScienceDirect - Full text monographs and series books
     
  • SpringerLink - eBooks collections in a variety of disciplines
     
  • TLG- Thesaurus Linguae Graecae - Literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453

Featured Collection

ebrary
 

Additional eBook Collections and Guides

Explore these guides for more in-depth eBook resources available within different discipline fields.