School Psychology

Comprehensive introduction to the theory and practice of therapy Child and Adolescent Therapy: Science and Art, Second Edition relies on both psychotherapy research and clinical expertise to create a comprehensive guide to evidence-based practice for providers of child and adolescent therapy. It includes explanations of all major theoretical orientations and the techniques associated with each, with application to the major diagnostic categories. This updated Second Edition includes a new chapter on Mindfulness-Based Cognitive-Behavioral Therapies (Dialectical Behavior Therapy and Acceptance and Commitment Therapy), incorporation of recent neuroscience research, instruction in Motivational Interviewing, and guidance in using therapeutic diagrams with young clients. The book models the thought process of expert therapists by describing how the science and art of therapy can be combined to provide a strong basis for treatment planning and clinical decision-making. Theoretical concepts, empirically supported treatments, and best practices are translated into concrete, detailed form, with numerous examples of therapist verbalizations and conversations between counselor and client. Child and Adolescent Therapy: Science and Art, Second Edition: Explains the work of therapists from the ground up, beginning with fundamentals and moving on to advanced theory and technique Covers the major theoretical approaches: behavioral, cognitive, mindfulness-based, psychodynamic, constructivist, and family systems Guides therapists in planning effective treatment strategies with balanced consideration of outcome research, cultural factors, and individual client characteristics Connects treatment planning with the diagnostic characteristics of the major child and adolescent disorders For both students and skilled clinicians looking for new ideas and techniques, Child and Adolescent Therapy: Science and Art, Second Edition offers a thorough, holistic examination of how best to serve young therapy clients.

A detailed look at how to apply clinical theories to social work practice Thinking through real-life cases to make connections between theory and practice is a crucial element of social work education. Now in its Second Edition, Case Studies in Child, Adolescent, and Family Treatment contains a wide range of cases described in rich detail by practitioners, scholars, and researchers. Chapters represent contexts and approaches across the social work spectrum, so students will get to glimpse into the clinical experience of a full range of professionals. With chapter overviews, case sketches, study questions, and references for further study, this book makes an invaluable reference for social work students. Learning by example is the best way to develop the skill of clinical reasoning. Editors Craig W. LeCroy and Elizabeth K. Anthony--two distinguished scholars in the field of social work--have brought together an impressive roster of contributors who add their unique voices and clinical perspectives into their insightful case descriptions. Organized into five thematic sections, Case Studies in Child, Adolescent, and Family Treatment, Second Edition covers the most important areas in social work practice, including: Child welfare and adoption Individual and group treatment School and community settings Family treatment and parent training With the updates in the Second Edition, students will learn the most current lessons in social work practice from a diverse range of scholars, researchers, and practitioners in the field. In contexts ranging from child welfare to homelessness, this book provides the critical thinking skills students need to understand how social work theory applies in clinical environments.

Although School Psychology first became recognized as a specialty in professional psychology by CRSPPP in 1998, this area of psychology can be traced back to the late 19th century, where it can be thought to have developed alongside Clinical Psychology due to the types of cases seen in Lightner Witmer's Psychological Clinic that opened in 1896. Over the years, this psychology specialty has become to encompass the science and practice of psychology with regard to a wide range of learners, including children, youth, and families, as it impacts the schooling or educational process. In this volume, Drs. Flanagan and Miller provide a comprehensive overview of the foundational and functional competencies related to the specialty of school psychology. As the U.S. attempts to reclaim its stature as a leader in education, school psychologists are likely to play a crucial role across multiple tasks and levels. As such, the reader interested in school psychology will find this volume very educational. Series in Specialty Competencies in Professional Psychology Series Editors Arthur M. Nezu and Christine Maguth Nezu As the field of psychology continues to grow and new specialty areas emerge and achieve recognition, it has become increasingly important to define the standards of professional specialty practice. Developed and conceived in response to this need for practical guidelines, this series presents methods, strategies, and techniques for conducting day-to-day practice in any given psychology specialty. The topical volumes address best practices across the functional and foundational competencies that characterize the various psychology specialties, including clinical psychology, cognitive and behavioral psychology, school psychology, geropsychology, forensic psychology, clinical neuropsychology, couples and family psychology, and more. Functional competencies include common practice activities like assessment and intervention, while foundational competencies represent core knowledge areas such as ethical and legal issues, cultural diversity, and professional identification. In addition to describing these competencies, each volume provides a definition, description, and development timeline of a particular specialty, including its essential and characteristic pattern of activities, as well as its distinctive and unique features. Written by recognized experts in their respective fields, volumes are comprehensive, up-to-date, and accessible. These volumes offer invaluable guidance to not only practicing mental health professionals, but those training for specialty practice as well.

This unique guidebook is specifically designed with useful multicultural applications aimed at practice-based school psychology. The text compiles an informational and instructional array of helpful "hands-on" checklists, reviews of some of the most current cultural literature applicable to best practices, and provides guided steps to take in various practice-based situations. Multicultural School Psychology Competencies: A Practical Guide is practice-based, culture-sensitive, and intended for the multicultural competency preparation of psychologists-in-training and in practice as well as other professionals working with diverse children and youth in schools and other educational settings. Key Features   Presents critical multicultural competencies that are practice and situation-based to offer guidance on what to do in specific school, clinical, or other educational settings Includes checklists and scales that give readers access to practical situation guidelines and accessibility of copying scales Provides guidelines for writing psychological reports for culturally and linguistically diverse children Devotes an entire chapter on emotional and multiple intelligence Discusses multicultural clinical assessment in schools Intended Audience   This is an excellent text for advanced undergraduate and graduate courses such as School Psychology Practicum, Clinical Practicum, Role of the School Psychologist, and Multicultural or Bilingual Assessment-Behavioral in the fields of psychology, counseling, and education. This handy, comprehensive volume is also an invaluable resource for school psychologists, school counselors, educators, and other practitioners.

- Provide up-to-date knowledge about the nature of school violence, its etiology, epidemiology, and impact - Analyzes school violence through a multicultural and international perspective - The lead editor, Florence Denmark, is an internationally-recognized scholar and former APA president and a recipient of the 2004 Gold Medal Awards for Life Achievement from the American Psychological Foundation (APF)