Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

QuickSearch: Using QuickSearch

This guide discusses Gumberg's discovery tool that will help you find the resources offered through the library.

What Can I Find Through QuickSearch?

What Can You Find Through QuickSearch?

QuickSearch allows users to search through a mix of holdings from the Gumberg Library and its collections, along with the Duquesne Center for Legal Information, and the Allegheny County Law Library. QuickSearch includes records from millions of publications, popular journals, and other materials from the library's extensive electronic resource collections.

Basic Search: Beginning Your Search


From the QuickSearch home page, you can choose between using the "CatalogPlus" function OR the "Catalog" tab.

"CatalogPlus" will search the catalog along with other resources such as journals and online databases."Catalog" will provide results for print materials in our library catalog. 

You can locate items directly from this search bar or conduct a more in-depth search through the Advanced Search option.

Advanced Search: Using Limiters - Adding A Row

QuickSearch allows for you to add more than one row when researching. This can be helpful if you are attempting to search within more than one collection, or if you are looking for more than one type of resource. Simply select the + to add another row.

Advanced Search: Using Limiters - Format

Searching by Format is one of the many limiter options available through the Advanced Search. Select which type of resource you are searching for such as eBooks or eJournals.

Getting Started with QuickSearch

 

This search box is visible you visit the Gumberg Library webpage. You are also able to search other outlets for information such as Google Scholar or Gumberg's E-Journal Collection, by selecting the tab you want to use.

QuickSearch is a library “discovery tool,” meaning it searches several of our library resources at once. Quicksearch allows for you to conduct a basic or an advanced search to display results from the library catalog and other resources including eBooks, print journals, film & audio material, and government documents.

Advanced Search

The Advanced Search option has many limiters available so that you can find what you need quicker and more efficiently. Conduct a Boolean Search using a keyword, the author's name, or the name of the title.

Advanced Search: Using Limiters - Select a Collection

Searching by Collection will show specific results for instances where you know where the resource might be found. For example, if you are searching for picture books, you can limit the results to show materials found in the Gumberg Curriculum Center, the library's collection of Pre-K-12 educational resources.