Slave Narratives: Home

Undated photograph of Frederick Douglass

This research guide will connect you to reference works, print books and ebooks, databases for articles, and other information sources on the genre of the African-American slave narrative and some of the genre's most important writers.

To access these electronic resources, please enter your Multipass username and password when prompted.

"Autobiography: Slave Narratives," from the Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature

"Slave Narratives," from American History Through Literature: 1820-1870

"Slave Narratives," from Black Women in America (2nd Edition)

"Slave Narratives," from the Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History

"Slave Narratives," from the Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619–1895: From the Colonial Period to the Age of Frederick Douglass

"Works Progress Administration Slave Narratives," from the Encyclopedia of African American History 1896 to the Present

"Slave Narratives," from the Encyclopedia of African American Society

"Slave Narratives," from the Encyclopedia of the Great Depression

"Slave Narratives," from the Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought

To access these electronic resources, please enter your Multipass username and password when prompted.

To access these electronic resources, please enter your Multipass username and password when prompted.

Click on any link below to run a search in the online catalog, for all books and other materials on that subject in, or accessible through, the Gumberg Library.

Topics

Authors

These are e-journals. Click a title to use it. To access these electronic resources, please enter your Multipass username and password when prompted.

To access these electronic resources, please enter your Multipass username and password when prompted.

How do you find full text?

To access these electronic resources, please enter your Multipass username and password when prompted.