LibGuides: Saint Paul the Apostle: Home

image

This research guide will connect you to reference works, print books and ebooks, databases for articles, and other information sources on Paul the Apostle. Originally a foe of early followers of Jesus, upon his conversion, Paul became one of the most widely-traveled Christian missionaries, and was author of a large portion of the books included in the canonical New Testament.

Introductory Articles

You will need to enter your Multipass username and password when you click on a link below.

“Paul, Apostle, Saint” (New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2nd edition)

“Paul, Missionary Journeys” (New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2nd edition)

“Paul of Tarsus” (Encyclopaedia Judaica)

“Paul the Apostle” (Encyclopedia of Religion, 2nd edition)

All Gale Virtual Reference Library articles

Reference Works

To use Ebooks, you will need to enter your Multipass username and password when prompted

The Blackwell Companion to Paul by Stephen Westerholm (Editor)
Publication Date: 2014
Ebook. Click title to read
Dictionary of Paul and His Letters by Daniel G. Reid (Editor)
Call Number: BS2650.2 .D53 1993 c.2
Publication Date: 1993
Paul: a Very Short Introduction by E. P. Sanders
Publication Date: 2001
Ebook. Click title to read
Paul - Apostle to the Nations: An Introduction by Walter F. Taylor
Publication Date: 2012
Ebook. Click title to read

Primary Sources

Bible Gateway

Byzantine Manuscripts of Pauline Epistles, Part 1

Byzantine Manuscripts of Pauline Epistles, Part 2

Manuscript of Codex Alexandrinus (British Library)

Nestle-Aland Critical Edition of the New Testament

Greek New Testament (UBS5)

Find Books

Click on any link below to run a search in the online catalog, for all books and other materials on that subject in, or accessible through, the Gumberg Library.

On Paul

On Paul's Writings

Find More Books

Commentaries & Criticism on Specific Epistles

On Pauline Themes

Find Articles

You will need to enter your Multipass username and password when you click on a link below.

How do you find full text?

Religion Databases

Atla Religion This link opens in a new window The premier index for journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion, with coverage from 1949 and retrospective indexing for several journal issues as far back as the nineteenth century. Journals are selected for inclusion according to their scholarly merit and scope.
New Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window This database, an indispensable research and bibliographic aid for scholars, librarians, clergy, and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu, contains more than 44,000 article abstracts, 1,200 review abstracts, 16,500 book abstracts, and 50 software abstracts.
Old Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window This database features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. Content from over 450 journals is covered. All abstracts are in English, regardless of the language of the original work. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more. Coverage in the database dates back to 1978.
Religion Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Provides a wide range of primarily full-text periodicals and other sources for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many worldwide religions. As well as scholarly journals there are many titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion.

Databases Covering Religion

Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Offers full text for more than 2,000 serials, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. This multi-disciplinary database covers virtually every area of academic study. More than 100 journals have PDF images back to 1985.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window A reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature, including searchable and browsable tables of contents and full text articles from both multidisciplinary and discipline-specific journal collections.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window Provides 100% full-text access to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.

Find Dissertations

To access electronic resources you will need to enter your Multipass information when prompted.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global This link opens in a new window The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research -- includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download. More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertations publishing partnerships with 700 leading academic institutions worldwide, and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations.

Saint Paul the Apostle: Home