Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Christology: Home

A Gumberg Library research guide

According to the New Catholic Encyclopedia 2nd Edition, "Christology" is "the study of the Person and attributes of Christ, in particular the union in Him of divine and human natures." This research guide is designed to get researchers quickly to books, journal articles, and other types of information sources accessible through the Gumberg Library on Christological topics.


Introductory Articles

For some basic information on the topic of Christology, click on the links below. To read an article, you many need to enter your Multipass username and password when prompted.

"Christ and Christology," Dictionary of Jewish-Christian Relations

"Christology," Encyclopedia of Science and Religion

"Christology," New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2nd Edition

"Christology," New Schaff-Herzog Encyclopedia of Religious Knowledge

"Christology, Controversies on (Patristic)," New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2nd Edition

"Hypostasis," Encyclopedia of Religion, 2nd Edition

"Incarnation," Encyclopedia of Religion, 2nd Edition

"Incarnation," New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2nd Edition

"Jesus Christ (In Theology)," New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2nd Edition

"Subsistence (In Christology)," New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2nd Edition

 

Reference Works

To use Ebooks, please enter your Multipass username and password when prompted


Find Books By and About Church Fathers

In the case of each of these Church Fathers who wrote on Christology, the first link for the person, identified by the word "Author," will take you to all books written by that person in the online catalog. The second link, identified by the word "Subject," will take you to all books in the online catalog about that person and their works.


Find Articles

To use these resources, please enter your Multipass username and password when prompted

How do you find full text?


Related Databases

To use these resources, please enter your Multipass username and password when prompted


Related Research Guides


Need Help?

If at any time you need help with using Gumberg Library resources, please contact Ted Bergfelt, Humanities Librarian, via email or by phone at 412-426-5430, 8:30 am-4:30 pm ET, Monday-Friday. If he is not available, Ask Gumberg