LibGuides: History of Osteopathic Medicine: Articles, Journals, and Databases

Articles, Journals, & Databases

Below is the link to our full list of databases, as well as some key databases that may be helpful for you to consider.

Databases A-Z

Databases

This list provides some of the most commonly used databases for osteopathic and medical research. For more options, see the Medicine Databases to view the full list.

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
Provides a variety of resources needed to excel in basic science studies and clerkships; instant access to videos, self-assessment, and leading medical textbooks with optimized content for any mobile device.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Elsevier’s ClinicalKey gives you access to quick answers at the point of care alongside trusted, comprehensive medical evidence. It includes clinical overviews, full-text books and journals, drug information, procedure videos, clinical calculators, patient education handouts, practice guidelines, clinical trials, and MEDLINE® citations and abstracts.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
Embase This link opens in a new window
Covers the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day and all articles are indexed in depth using Elsevier's Life Science thesaurus Embase Indexing and Emtree®.
LWW Health Sciences: Premium Basic Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
This resource includes the LWW Health Library: Premium Basic Sciences Collection & the LWW Health Library: Osteopathic Medicine Collection, as well as combining the Integrated Basic Sciences collection, the Lippincott Illustrated Review book series, the gold-standard Bates’ Guide to Physical Examination & History Taking, and more.
OSTMED.DR (Osteopathic Medical Digital Repository) This link opens in a new window
OSTMED.DR® is an osteopathic medicine digital library created by a partnership between Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine (VCOM) and VTLS, Inc. in 2006. The goal of the project is to promote and facilitate research and scholarly activity in the osteopathic profession by providing access to the current osteopathic literature and heretofore hard to find resources, including historical documents.
PubMed @ Duquesne This link opens in a new window
PubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, as well as the out-of-scope citations from certain MEDLINE journals; citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing; and life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
The largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. indexes content from 24,600 active titles and 5,000 publishers which is rigorously vetted and selected by an independent review board, and uses a rich underlying metadata architecture to connect people, published ideas and institutions.

Journals

Duquesne affiliates have access to several journals relevant to osteopathic medicine. See a searchable list of journals at the links below as well as an online open-access journal.

All Biomedical and Health Sciences Journals
Browzine provides access to Biomedical and Health Sciences journals.
The DO
The DO is published by the American Osteopathic Association and provides news and features about osteopathic medicine.
Journal of Osteopathic Medicine
The Journal of Osteopathic Medicine, founded in 1901, is the premier scholarly, peer-reviewed publication of the osteopathic medical profession.
Osteopathic Medicine Journals
Browzine provides access to journals related to osteopathic medicine, including the International Journal of Osteopathic Medicine.