LibGuides: Islamic Philosophy: A Research Guide: Home

Miniature of Avicenna. Artist unknown. Public domain. Source: Wikimedia Commons.

Introduction: Islamic Philosophy

Introduction

Between the 9th and 12 centuries, philosophers in the Islamic world discovered and responded to the thinking of Aristotle and the ancient Greeks. They synthesized those ideas with concepts from their religion and culture to create original works of philosophy which exerted great influence on medieval Christian thinkers, particularly Thomas Aquinas.

This research guide is designed to connect you with resources in the Gumberg Library collection (and beyond) for the study of Islamic philosophy and philosophers. It will point you to appropriate encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other types of reference works for basic information, books for in-depth information, and journal articles. Links to high-quality websites are also provided.

Reference Works

Learn basic facts

Cambridge Companion to Arabic Philosophy
Call Number: B741 C36 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Islamic Philosophy A-Z by Peter Groff
Publication Date: 2007
Ebook. Click title to read
Philosophy in the Islamic World: A Very Short Introduction by Peter Adamson
Publication Date: 2015
Ebook. Click title to read
Encyclopedia of Islam, Three (Brill) by Marc Gaborieau, editor
Call Number: DS37 E523x 2007 Vols. 1-14 (Library use Only)
Publication Date: 2007
Encyclopedia of Philosophy, 2nd edition by Doald M. Borchert, editor
Publication Date: 2006
Ebook. Click title to read
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy by James Fieser & Bradley Dowden, editors
Ebook. Click title to read
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy by Edward N. Zalta, editor
Ebook. Click title to read

Find Books

Click on a link below to find all books on that topic available through the Gumberg Library.

Philosophy Topics

Find Books: Philosophers, By and About

Find Books

Click on a link below to find all books on that topic available through the Gumberg Library.

Philosophers

Find Journal Articles

Find Articles

Click on a database name below to enter and search that journal database. If you want to use them off-campus, you will need to enter your Multipass username and password, when you click on the link.

Finding Full Text

Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window A bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews. Updated quarterly.
Philosophy Documentation Center (POIESIS) This link opens in a new window Access to the full text of a growing number of philosophy journals and serials, containing over 2,300 issues and 340,000 pages of text from 53 journals and series, and most of these are not available in electronic format from any other service. Also provides publishing services.
Atla Religion This link opens in a new window The premier index for journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion, with coverage from 1949 and retrospective indexing for several journal issues as far back as the nineteenth century. Journals are selected for inclusion according to their scholarly merit and scope.
Religion Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Provides a wide range of primarily full-text periodicals and other sources for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many worldwide religions. As well as scholarly journals there are many titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion.
Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Offers full text for more than 2,000 serials, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. This multi-disciplinary database covers virtually every area of academic study. More than 100 journals have PDF images back to 1985.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
Scopus This link opens in a new window The largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. indexes content from 24,600 active titles and 5,000 publishers which is rigorously vetted and selected by an independent review board, and uses a rich underlying metadata architecture to connect people, published ideas and institutions.

Need help?

Need Help?

If you need help with research on this or any other topic, Ask Gumberg.

You can also contact me, Ted Bergfelt, creator of this page. I am the library's liaison to the Philosophy and Theology Departments. The best way to reach me with a question is via email

bergfeltt@duq.edu