Islamic Philosophy: A Research Guide: Web

Al-Andalus Maghreb Arab and Islamic Studies.

Since 1980 Al-Qanṭara is the continuer of Al-Andalus (1933-1978). Al-Qanṭara is devoted to the study of classical Islamic civilization up to the 17th century, with special emphasis on Western Islam.

ArchNet was officially launched in 2002 as a partnership between the Aga Khan Trust for Culture and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. It has since evolved into the largest, open, online architectural library with a focus on the Muslim cultures. Its digital archives form a comprehensive resource on architecture, urban design and development, and related issues.

The Averroes Database.

A bibliography of mathematics and mathematical sciences in Islam during the Middle Ages.

An index of Islamic texts at intratext.com. Intratext offers e-texts with concordances and other exegetical tools. Its special strengths are philosophy and theology, especially in the Catholic tradition. Since the site is rapidly growing, it's worth looking through its indices often.

Professor Therese-Anne Druart's bibliographies of Islamic philosophy and theology for 1998-2012.

For converting dates between the Christian and Islamic calendars.

This collection contains over four thousand color slides and black and white photographs of medieval Spain taken by the late Eugene Casselman (1912-1996) during his thirty years of travel throughout the Iberian peninsula. The majority of the slides focus on the Mudejar style, an ornate court style largely inspired by Spanish Islamic architecture that was shared among Islamic, Jewish, and Christian cultures during the later Middle Ages in Spain.

The Consortium for Educational Resources in Islamic Studies (which includes Duquesne University) lists events and courses in the region.

For converting dates between the Christian and Islamic calendars.

From Fordham University.

An enormous and easily navigated collection of links in every aspect of Islam, this site is very useful.

A peer-reviewed, open access journal. Made available through the University of Oslo, Norway. It is also the world's most widely read journal in the field of Arabic, Islamic and Middle Eastern Studies.

From the University of Texas. Middle East maps-historical, political, sociological, and so on.

Many primary and secondary scources may be downloaded here, along with a bit of music.

Since 1966, the Journal of the Worlds Muslims and the Mediterranean (REMMM) has published studies in the humanities and social sciences in the whole Muslim world.

Centered at McGill University, the purpose of this project is to study the rational sciences in Islam, and will investigate the philosophical, scientific, and theological traditions of Islam in a holistic manner. The primary goal is to increase our understanding of how Muslim scholars and the various publics making up Islamic societies explored the world through rational means, and the products and consequences of those explorations.