LibGuides: History and Art History Resources: Welcome!

Title box

To access any electronic resource, you will need to enter your Multipass information when prompted

Research Guides

Reference Works

Individual reference works, print and electronic, can be found by searching the DUQSearch online catalog

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Each Handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research. Handbook articles review the key issues and cutting-edge debates, as well as providing arguments for how those debates might evolve.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Includes electronic editions of a wide range of Oxford's award-winning scholarly encyclopedias and reference titles.
Very Short Introductions (Oxford University Press) This link opens in a new window
Concise introductions to a diverse range of subject areas. Duquesne has subscriptions to the following modules: "VSI Art & Humanities", "VSI Social Science", "VSI Medicine & Health", "VSI Science & Mathematics" and "VSI Law"

Art History Reference Works

Find Books

How to Use the DUQSearch Online Catalog to Find Print and Ebooks in Any Discipline

Find Articles: Subject-Specific Databases for History & Art History

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Published since 1964, the definitive bibliographic reference covering the history, culture, area studies, and current affairs literature of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Content Includes indexing for over 1,800 journals from 1895 to the present; citations and links to books and media reviews; coverage for some titles goes back to the 19th and early 20th centuries.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, covered in the EBSCOhost database "America: History and Life"). Over 2,000 journals published throughout the world are covered; includes a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities.
Military Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more. It includes over 550 titles, with more than 400 available in full-text.

Find Articles: General Databases Covering History & Art History

Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Offers full text for more than 2,000 serials, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. This multi-disciplinary database covers virtually every area of academic study. More than 100 journals have PDF images back to 1985.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Broadly search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, pre-print repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature, including searchable and browsable tables of contents and full text articles from both multidisciplinary and discipline-specific journal collections.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
An archive with backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences that provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides 100% full-text access to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature Retrospective: 1890-1982 This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing of over 3 million articles from more than 550 leading magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature. This important resource offers a wide range of researchers access to information about history, culture and seminal developments across nearly a century.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
The largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. indexes content from 24,600 active titles and 5,000 publishers which is rigorously vetted and selected by an independent review board, and uses a rich underlying metadata architecture to connect people, published ideas and institutions.

Other Specialized Databases

Historical Statistics of the United States, Millennial Edition This link opens in a new window
A compendium of statistics from over 1,000 sources, recording every aspect of the history of the United States. Users can search and navigate data, graph individual tables, or combine data into custom tables.

Primary Sources

Primary Sources in the Liberal Arts

Dissertations

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global This link opens in a new window

research process

Arts & Humanities Research Process

Check to see if there is a research guide on your topic. These will quickly connect you to all the most important resources on your topic. To see the research guides supporting History and Art History, look in the main box to the left.

If there is no research guide, then follow these steps:

1. Start with Reference Works to get background information and basic facts, also to see your broad topic broken into subtopics, one of which you might choose to use in narrowing your topic.

2. Search DUQSearch for books. Books are time-saving devises that gather, summarize, and synthesize the contents of hundreds of other books and articles and present this content conveniently for your use. Use the table of content and index to get to the specific information you need.

3. Use databases, general and subject-specific, to find articles, which will supplement the information from the books, providing you with the more recent information from researchers and journalists.

need help ted

Need Help?

Ted Bergfelt, MLS

Humanities Librarian

Liaison to the Department of History

Phone: 412-396-5351

Email: bergfeltt@duq.edu

History and Art History Resources: Welcome!