LibGuides: Global Health Resources: Getting Started

Background Sources

Encyclopedia of Global Health by Yawei Zhang (Editor)
Publication Date: 2008
Ebook. Click title to read
Encyclopedia of Health Services Research by Ross M. Mullner (Editor)
Publication Date: 2009
Ebook. Click title to read
Environmental Health and Science Desk Reference by Frank R. Spellman
Publication Date: 2012
Ebook. Click title to read
Health Care Policy and Politics A to Z by Julie Rovner
Publication Date: 2008
Ebook. Click title to read

Background Sources in the Health Sciences research guide
All the major background sources are here.

Find Books

Click on any link below to run a search in the online catalog, for all books and other materials on that subject in, or accessible through, the Gumberg Library.

To read Ebooks, please enter your Multipass username and password when prompted.

Databases

General Health Science & Related Databases

How do you find full text?

PubMed@Duquesne PubMed indexes biomedical, nursing, dentistry and related journals as the premier database of health sciences journal literature.

Anthrosource This link opens in a new window A service of the American Anthropological Association that offers members and subscribing libraries full-text anthropological resources from the breadth and depth of the discipline. including a digital searchable database containing the past, present and future AAA publications, more than 250,000 articles from AAA journals, newsletters, bulletins and monographs.

CINAHL The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health (CINAHL) database provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing & allied health.

Healthcare Administration Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Find complete, full-text information from leading publications covering all aspects of health administration, including public health and safety, hospitals, finance, personnel management, insurance, population studies, labor relations and law.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Full text of hundreds of scientific, technical, and medical journals published by Elsevier, Academic Press, and selected additional publishers from 1995 to present, and enables searching of abstracts of articles from more than 3,000 journals.

Scopus Database of literature in the health sciences, life sciences, and social sciences. Provides a broad coverage of international literature. U-M users only.
EMBASE Extensive research database, especially strong in searching for international biomedical literature and pharmaceutical literature.
PsycInfo Contains citations & summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, & technical reports in the field of psychology & the psychological aspects of medicine, psychiatry, & public health.
Global Index Medicus From the World Health Organization. Global Index Medicus provides worldwide access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low-middle income countries.
Google Scholar Lets you search broadly for scholarly literature. It searches a variety of resources, including PubMed, electronic journals, and Google Book Search.

Global Health Scholarly Sources

Disease Control Priorities, 3rd edition (DCP-3) The series provides evidence on intervention efficacy and program effectiveness for the leading causes of global disease burden.
The Lancet Global Health Portal The Lancet articles, reports, podcasts and other information focusing on issues and trends in global health.
JAMA Global Health Collection Global health topics, including world infectious disease, maternal-child health, and resource and workforce challenges.
LILACS (Latin American & Caribbean Literature on the Health Sciences)
WHO International Clinical Trials Registry Platform Aims to provide a single searchable database of information about ongoing and completed clinical trials registered around the world in clinical trial registries.
Global Health Cost Effectiveness Analysis (GH CEA) Registry A free database that compiles research literature on the economic value of global health interventions

Interdisciplinary Scholarly Sources

Design for Health To accelerate the use of design in addressing global health challenges, the Gates Foundation and USAID’s Center for Innovation and Impact (CII) have partnered to develop resources to support the understanding, appropriate use, and effectiveness of design in global health.
Market Bookshelf An open-access collection of health market literature.
PAIS Index (Public Affairs Information Service) Database of public affairs and public policy worldwide. Contains books, government documents, statistical directories, research and conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche and Internet material. UM users only.
The World Bank eLIbrary Provides the comprehensive and fully searchable collection of the World Bank's books and policy research working papers.