LibGuides: Disparities in Female Health Care: Articles, Journals, & Databases

Articles, Journals, & Databases

While research on the female body continues to grow, more resources become available to review as well. Explore different databases to gain a more wholistic view of female health disparities and refer to Gumberg's Finding Full-Text guide for more information about how to access articles with full-text options.

Selected Databases

Cumulative list of databases referenced in this guide.

APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window Citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Coverage spans 1887 to present, including international material selected from more than 2,100 periodicals in more than 25 languages. Produced by the American Psychological Association.
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) This link opens in a new window An indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education -- unique in its focus on the practical problems of society and also in that it covers both sociology and psychology.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) This link opens in a new window Indexing for more than 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, this database contains more than 2.9 million records dating back to 1981, as well as complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses’ Association: health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.
Consumer Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Covers an enormous range of subjects of value in the public library context - from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry. It includes important general medical journals such as The Lancet and The New England Journal of Medicine as well as a strong selection of consumer and news magazines.
ERIC - Educational Resources Information Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, this database provides extensive access to educational-related literature, including journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Broadly search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, pre-print repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Medline (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,400 biomedical journals published in the U.S. and internationally. Covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and pre-clinical sciences. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings, and explosive capabilities to search citations.
PubMed @ Duquesne This link opens in a new window Enables you to connect directly to Gumberg Library holdings via PubMed. PubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, as well as the out-of-scope citations from certain MEDLINE journals; citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing; and some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.
Sociology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Access to the full-text of more than 310 journals in sociology and social work. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts.

Additional Databases

Follow the links to explore more of Gumberg's research resources.