Immigrant America by
Updated with the latest available data, Immigrant America explores the economic, political, spatial, and linguistic aspects of immigration; the role of religion in the acculturation and social integration of foreign minorities; and the adaptation process for the second generation.
Engaging the Diaspora by
As an interdisciplinary text, Engaging makes a handy reference for scholars and researchers in institutions of higher learning, as well as for community service providers working on diversity issues. It promotes knowledge about Africans in the Diaspora and the African continent through current and relevant case studies.
Immigration Outside the Law by
In Immigration Outside the Law, acclaimed immigration law expert Hiroshi Motomura takes a neutral,legally-accurate approach in his attention and responses to the questions surrounding those whom he calls "unauthorized migrants." In a reasoned and careful discussion, he seeks to explain why unlawful immigration is such a contentious debate in the United States and to offer suggestions for what should be done about it.
Lives in Limbo: undocumented and coming of age in America by
Mining the results of an extraordinary twelve-year study that followed 150 undocumented young adults in Los Angeles, Lives in Limbo exposes the failures of a system that integrates children into K-12 schools but ultimately denies them the rewards of their labor.
Integration Nation by
Integration Nation takes readers on a spirited and compelling cross-country journey, introducing us to the people challenging America's xenophobic impulses by welcoming immigrants and collaborating with the foreign-born as they become integral members of their new communities.
Crime, Punishment, and Migration by
Dario Melossi provides an authoritative take on the theory and research examining the connection of crime, migration and punishment. Written for students, academics, researchers and activists with an interest in the topic, the book will appeal to individuals in a range of disciplines, from criminology and sociology to politics, international relations, ethnic studies, geography, social policy and development.
Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Offers full text for more than 2,000 serials, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. This multi-disciplinary database covers virtually every area of academic study. More than 100 journals have PDF images back to 1985.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day, written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students. Coverage: 1923 - Present.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
- Immigration Enforcement
- Immigration AND Law
- Emigration AND Law
- Immigration AND Policy
- Immigration Opponents
- Immigration Advocates
- Emigration AND Immigration
- Immigration AND United States
- Migrant literature
- Immigration History
- Emigration History
Government and NGO Websites
DACA and DREAMers
Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) and Development, Relief, and Education for Alien Minors (DREAM Act) are explored further in this research guide!