eBooks
Marching Through Suffering: Loss and Survival in North Korea by Sandra Fahy
Marching Through Suffering is a deeply personal portrait of the ravages of famine and totalitarian politics in modern North Korea since the 1990s. Featuring interviews with more than thirty North Koreans who defected to Seoul and Tokyo, the book explores the subjective experience of the nation's famine and its citizens' social and psychological strategies for coping with the regime.
Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Offers full text for more than 2,000 serials, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. This multi-disciplinary database covers virtually every area of academic study. More than 100 journals have PDF images back to 1985.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day, written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students. Coverage: 1923 - Present.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
Search Terms
- Refugees AND Environmental Change
- Environmental Refugees
- Internally Displaced Persons AND Environmental Change
- Refugees AND Famine
- Involuntary Resettlement AND War
- Refugees AND War
Encyclopedias
Government and NGO Websites
Marching Through Suffering: Loss and Survival in North Korea by
Marching Through Suffering is a deeply personal portrait of the ravages of famine and totalitarian politics in modern North Korea since the 1990s. Featuring interviews with more than thirty North Koreans who defected to Seoul and Tokyo, the book explores the subjective experience of the nation's famine and its citizens' social and psychological strategies for coping with the regime.
Refuge from inhumanity? : war refugees and international humanitarian law by
This book contributes to a long-standing but ever topical debate about whether persons fleeing war to seek asylum in another country - 'war refugees' - are protected by international law. It seeks to add to this debate by bringing together a detailed set of analyses examining the extent to which the application of international humanitarian law (IHL) may usefully advance the legal protection of such persons.
Refugees in International Relations by
Drawing together the work and ideas of a combination of the world's leading and emerging International Relations scholars, the volume considers what the disciplines can offer our understanding of the international politics of forced migration.
