LibGuides: Cold War: Warsaw Pact

What is the Warsaw Pact?

"The Warsaw Pact, or Warsaw Treaty Organization (WTO) was a military alliance of seven Eastern European countries and the Soviet Union designed as a counterweight to the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) alliance with the goal of collective defense of Eastern Europe." -Europe Since 1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of War and Reconstruction

Founding members in 1955, in response to West Germany joining NATO:

Soviet Union
Albania
Bulgaria
Czechoslovakia
East Germany
Hungary
Poland
Romania

Need more books? Use the "Finding Resources at Gumberg" box to find more!

Print Books: (Follow the links to find out more about the books!)

The Warsaw Pact: political purpose & military means by Robert W. Clawson (Editor); Lawrence S. Kaplan (Editor)
Call Number: UA646.8 .W367 1982 (Gumberg 2nd floor)
A Cardboard Castle?: an inside history of the Warsaw Pact, 1955-1991 by Vojtech Masyny (Editor); Malcolm Byrne (Editor)
Call Number: UA646.8 .C37 2005 (Gumberg 2nd floor)
The first book to document, analyze, and interpret the history of the Warsaw Pact based on the archives of the alliance itself. As suggested by the title, the Soviet bloc military machine that held the West in awe for most of the Cold War does not appear from the inside as formidable as outsiders often believed, nor were its strengths and weaknesses the same at different times in its surprisingly long history, extending for almost half a century.

eBooks: (Note: You will have to enter your MultiPass credentials to access these off-campus.)

The Prague Spring and the Warsaw Pact Invasion of Czechoslovakia in 1968 by Gunter Bischof; Stefan Karner; Peter Ruggenthaler
On August 20, 1968, tens of thousands of Soviet and East European ground and air forces moved into Czechoslovakia and occupied the country in an attempt to end the 'Prague Spring' reforms and restore an orthodox Communist regime. The essays of a dozen leading European and American Cold War historians analyze this turning point in the Cold War in light of new documentary evidence from the archives of two dozen countries and explain what happened behind the scenes.

Finding Resources at Gumberg

Use these subjects in any of our databases or QuickSearch to find books, articles, and more! (Note: We've recommended a few databases below!)

"Warsaw Pact" AND "Cold War"
"Prague Spring"

Political Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Contains over 460 leading political science and international relations journals.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts from international political science journals. Use Full Text Finder to see if we have a copy or request articles through ILLiad.
Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary journal database covering virtually every area of academic study.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary journal and eBook database covering a wide range of fields.