Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Vatican II: Pittsburgh and Vatican II

A Gumberg Library Research Guide

Vatican II: Pittsburgh and the Second Vatican Council

Pittsburgh and Vatican II

Below are resources for examining Vatican II and its effects from a Pittsburgh perspective

 

The Pittsburgh Catholic

The Pittsburgh Catholic is the official newspaper of the Diocese of Pittsburgh. It has been published continuously since 1844 and is an important primary source for the history of Roman Catholics in Pittsburgh and Western Pennsylvania, as well as an important source for general social history of the area. While the Gumberg Library has the whole run of the paper available on microfilm on the 1st floor, the years 1844 to 1982 have been digitized and can also be read online though the Gumberg Library Digital Collections. Of course, this includes the years of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965).This newspaper can be browsed to see how the Second Vatican Council was reported on in the area, learn Pittsburghers' reactions to the Council, trace the local implementation of the Council's decisions, and examine the legacy of the Council in the Pittsburgh area.

 

 


Kelly, Thomas I. The Transformation of American Catholicism : The Pittsburgh Laity and the Second Vatican Council, 1950-1972. Notre Dame, IN: Notre Dame UP, 2009. Print. Call Number: BX1417 .P5 K45 2009, 3rd floor Gumberg Library

This book details how the Catholic faith was practiced in Pittsburgh in the decade before Vatican II, and how the Council decisions changed the lives of local Catholic laity.

 

 

 


Cardinal John J. Wright Collection

The Duquesne University Archives is the home of the Cardinal John J. Wright Collection. Cardinal Wright was the Bishop of Pittsburgh from 1959-1969. He was also an American representative to Vatican II. The Wright Collection includes the Cardinal’s addresses, papers, sermons, writings, and personal library, with substantial material from the Second Vatican Council. To access the Wright Collection, contact:

Thomas White, University Archivist and Curator of Special Collections

Phone: 412.396.4870

Email: whitet@duq.edu

Location: 1st Floor, Gumberg Library

Hours: Monday-Friday, 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m. (or by appointment)

 CRRA box

Click the button above to visit the CRRA website, home of the Catholic Portal, a catalog of rare, unique, and uncommon Catholic scholarly materials in the library collections of the almost 50 member institutions of the CRRA. An ever-growing number of the items listed may contain links to the full-text!

CRRA has a growing collection of subject guides to assist users of their website in doing research. Click the link below to see these subject guides.

CRRA Subject Guides

Useful Links

Cardinal Wright's official papers from his time as Bishop of Pittsburgh are available through the:

Archives and Records Center, Diocese of Pittsburgh