LibGuides: Vatican II: Reference

Bibliographies

Vatican II: A Bibliography.
Call Number: Z7838 .C7 D64
Edited by Charles Dollen.
Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow, 1969.
A listing of books and journal articles published during and immediately after the Council. No annotations.
“Recherches et publications récentes autour de Vatican II.” Laval théologique et philosophique.
v. 53 (1997): 435-454
v. 55 (1999): 115-149
v. 56 (2000): 543-583
v. 58 (2002): 177-203
v. 59 (2003): 583-606
v. 60 (2004): 561-577
v. 61 (2005): 613-653
v. 64 (2008): 783-824
v. 67 (2011): 321-373

This journal is shelved on the 1st floor in the compact shelving.

Every few years since 1997 the journal Laval théologique et philosophique has published a review article listing major recent publications about the Council with extensive annotations. Some articles also include a very brief list of dissertations and important journal articles.

Concordances

A concordance is an alphabetical list of all the words in a work. It can be used to locate a known passage or to learn how a particular word or concept is used in the documents of the Council.

Index et Concordance: Vatican II.
Call Number: BX830 1962 .A48 T3 - Cardinal Wright Collection (University Archives, 1st floor)
Edited by H. Tardif and G. Pelloquin.
Collection “Concile et Masses”. Paris: Les Editions Ouvrieres, 1969.
A French-language word-index which cites paragraph numbers.
II Vatican Council: A Full-Text Search Engine.
A search engine which uses the English-language translation edited by Walter M. Abbott.

Subject Arrangements

Dictionaries

Dictionary of the Council.
Call Number: BX830 1962 .A48 D43 1968B
Edited by J. Deretz and A. Nocent.
London: Geoffrey Chapman, 1968.
Paragraph-length excerpts arranged by subject heading. The English edition is a slightly abridged version of the French original (Synopse des Textes Conciliaires, St. Michael’s Reference – BX 830 1962 .A48 D4 1966). There is also a German translation (Konkordanz der Konzils Texte, St. Michael’s 1st Floor Reference Area – BX 830 1962 .A48 K615 1968)

Other Works

Acta et documenta Concilio Oecumenico Vaticano II apparando.
Call Number: BX830 1962 .A2 1960 (Oversized Books)
Vatican City: Typis Polyglottis Vaticanis, 1960-present. 26 volumes. Gumberg Library holdings incomplete.
The records of the commissions which prepared draft documents for the Council. Includes the full-text of submissions from bishops around the world.
History of Vatican II.
Call Number: BX830 1962 .H55 1995
Edited by Giuseppe Alberigo.
Maryknoll, NY: Orbis, 1995-2004. 5 volumes. Gumberg Library has volumes 1-4.
The definitive history of the Council. Particularly useful for explanations of the organizational structure.

St. Peter's Basilica. Photo by Bob Tubbs. Public Domain. Wikimedia Commons

CRRA box

Click the button above to visit the CRRA website, home of the Catholic Portal, a catalog of rare, unique, and uncommon Catholic scholarly materials in the library collections of the almost 50 member institutions of the CRRA. An ever-growing number of the items listed may contain links to the full-text!

CRRA has a growing collection of subject guides to assist users of their website in doing research. Click the link below to see these subject guides.

CRRA Subject Guides