Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Karl Stern Archival Collection: Karl Stern Collection

This guide contains resources relating to Karl Stern, including the Karl Stern Collection within the Archives of the Simon Silverman Phenomenology Center and the Karl Stern Lecture Series.

Finding Aid of Collection

screen capture of the menu-outline for the Karl Stern Collection on ArchivesSpace

To search through the Finding Aid of our Karl Stern Collection, please visit the Karl Stern Collection in ArchivesSpace.

On the right-hand side of the screen, use the menu to browse through the Karl Stern Collection, or to search the Collection by keyword or by year-range.

 

To download a PDF of the Finding Aid of our Karl Stern Collection, please click the link below.

 

Scope and Contents of Collection

The Dr. Karl Stern Collection, consisting of 15 linear feet of materials, is contained in twenty five acid-free boxes of assorted sizes.

The Stern Collection consists of eleven series: personal papers and biographic information, letters, reviews and articles by Stern, testimony, drafts, speeches and reviews by Stern, other papers not by Stern, religious literature, notebooks and journals, photographs, clippings, oversized materials, and items of interest.

Explanation of Collection's Series

Personal Papers and Biographic information: This series includes information on Stern’s immigration, reparations from Germany, publishing contracts, and ephemera.

Letters: Letters are organized by language (English, French, German) and the sender’s name, last name first. Unclear names are at the end of each subseries. This series includes letters from prominent psychologists, Catholic intellectuals, politicians, publishers, and many readers of Stern’s books. Correspondence connected to a specific document or conference, however, remains with the associated document in the appropriate subseries; the file entry will note the correspondence.

Reviews and Articles about Stern: This series consists of reviews of Stern’s work and biographical articles. See clippings, subseries 9, as well.

Testimony, drafts, speeches and reviews by Stern: This series includes lectures, speeches, scripts, and testimony for Canadian Parliament hearings and obscenity cases. Notes and drafts are also included in this series.

Other papers not by Stern: This series holds papers collected by stern on religion and psychology, conference materials, and some correspondence with organizations such as the Canadian Arts Council.

Religious Literature: This series includes Stern’s funeral materials, missals, magazines promoting conversion from Judaism to Christianity, and other Catholic and Jewish material.

Notebooks and Journals: This series contains Stern’s journals, and notebooks by Lisolotte and Michael Stern.

Photographs: This series holds photographs of Stern, his family, and work pictures. Many have not been identified.

Clippings: This series contains articles, about, by, or saved by, Karl Stern. Many were collected by professional clipping services for his publishers.

Oversized materials: Materials larger than 8.5” by 14” include: Honorific Parchment from Government of Quebec, oversized birthday card, a framed montage of pictures, and feature articles on Stern or organizations he was affiliated with.

Items of interest: This series contains Stern’s Christopher Award, Cardinal Newman award, Pillar of Fire Longhand Manuscript, and Honorary Degree from Laval University

Addendums to the collection: Subseries 1: Material added in 2015, Subseries 2: Material Donated by Charlyne Valensin, 2016

Other Useful Information

Need help with citation? Click the link below for help in citing resources in the major styles.

Citing Your Sources


Gumberg doesn't have it?  Click below to see your options .

Getting Materials from Other Libraries