Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dr. Karl Stern was born in Cham, Bavaria on April 8, 1906 to Orthodox Jewish parents. Following his mother’s death he studied medicine in Frankfurt, earning his degree in 1930. By 1932 he was working as a Rockefeller fellow in the German Research Institute. When the Nazi Party came to power, he was saved from the Aryan Laws because of his American sponsorship. However, he still fled to London in 1935, working at the National Hospital for Nervous Diseases under a grant marked for German Jewish refugees. He married Liselotte von Baeyer, with whom he would have three children, the next year. In 1940 the Stern family moved to Montreal, when Karl was appointed Lecturer in Neuropathology at McGill University. He would later become Professor of Psychiatry at the University of Ottawa and Psychiatrist in Chief at St. Mary’s Hospital in Montreal. Although in his youth Stern was a Marxist Zionist, in 1940 after much soul searching both he and his wife (who was raised Lutheran) converted to Roman Catholicism. He details his struggle in his autobiography, Pillar of Fire for which he won one of his two Christopher Awards. In total he would author four more books and over sixty journal articles. Stern died in November of 1975.
from Karl Stern Collection. Simon Silverman Phenomenology Center. http://archives.library.duq.edu/repositories/4/resources/4.
Searching for Stern Resources at Duquesne
In order to find books and articles authored by or written about Dr. Karl Stern, please follow these guidelines when searching our library catalog or any of our online databases:
Write a list of search terms
- Before you begin searching create a list of keywords that describe your topic, including names, dates, places, and subjects
- Use a thesaurus to stimulate your word choice and to generate synonyms for your concepts
Use Advanced Search to search for Author and/or Subject
- If searching a name, such as Karl Stern, search both 'Stern, Karl' and 'Karl Stern'
- Searching 'Author' returns resources authored by your search query
- Searching 'Subject' returns any resources listed underneath that subject heading
Use Subject Headings
- When clicking through a resource, see what Subject Headings are listed. Click the subject headings to look at other resources within the same subject.
Limit your search in Gumberg's Quick Search
- Limit your search by location to Gumberg Silverman Phen General - 1st Floor if you want to make sure an item is located in the Simon Silverman Phenomenology Center
Document your search
- Document your return results from initial searches. From these results, scan items for any related terms that will help to refine your keywords.
Find Books at Gumberg Library and Simon Silverman Phenomenology Center
Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Offers full text for more than 2,000 serials, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. This multi-disciplinary database covers virtually every area of academic study. More than 100 journals have PDF images back to 1985.
Atla Religion This link opens in a new window
The premier index for journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion, with coverage from 1949 and retrospective indexing for several journal issues as far back as the nineteenth century. Journals are selected for inclusion according to their scholarly merit and scope.
Contemporary Authors This link opens in a new window
A database that includes biographic details on approximately 100,000 modern novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists and scriptwriters. Featured are current writers, the most-studied literary figures of the early 20th Century and authors from around the world whose works have been translated into English or published in the United States.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, covered in the EBSCOhost database "America: History and Life"). Over 2,000 journals published throughout the world are covered; includes a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, coverage dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews. Updated quarterly.
Philosophy Documentation Center (POIESIS) This link opens in a new window
Access to the full text of a growing number of philosophy journals and serials, containing over 2,300 issues and 340,000 pages of text from 53 journals and series, and most of these are not available in electronic format from any other service. Also provides publishing services.
PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window
A powerful web-based portal that features DSM-V, the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of an unsurpassed collection of psychiatric references from American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc., the most trusted and respected name in psychiatric publishing.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
The largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. indexes content from 24,600 active titles and 5,000 publishers which is rigorously vetted and selected by an independent review board, and uses a rich underlying metadata architecture to connect people, published ideas and institutions.
This Guide Created By
This LibGuide originally created by Matthew A. Jones, MLIS, 2019.