LibGuides: Shakespeare: A Research Guide: Find Articles

William Shakespeare, a 19th century copy of a painting by Richard Burbage. Public domain. Source: Wikimedia Commons

Shakespeare Journals

To use these subscription periodicals off-campus, you will need to enter your Multipass username and password.

Joseph T. Keiley as Shylock, 1901. Public domain.Source: Wikimedia Commons

Finding Full Text

Click the link below to find out how to identify if the full text of an article is available in a Gumberg Library database.

Finding Full Text

Droeshout Engraving of Shakespeare, circa 1815. Public domain.Source: Wikimedia Commons

Best Databases for Shakespeare Studies

All of these resources can be accessed from off-campus, but you will need to enter your Multipass username and password in order to use them.

Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL)
An indispensable reference work for English studies, with more than 960,000 records from 1892 to the present, with regular monthly updates of newly indexed material. Widely regarded as one of the most important bibliographical sources for English studies.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, coverage dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers.

World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
At this point, the regular login process for this database has been disrupted. To use it, click on "Personal User", and when asked for a username and password, use these:
User Name: wsbduquesne
Password: Oxford2021

Connecting digital texts from the Folger Shakespeare Library with articles on JSTOR

Click the image to use this database

Other Databases for Literature

All of these resources can be accessed from off-campus, but you will need to enter your Multipass username and password in order to use them.

Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Offers full text for more than 2,000 serials, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. This multi-disciplinary database covers virtually every area of academic study. More than 100 journals have PDF images back to 1985.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Broadly search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, pre-print repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature, including searchable and browsable tables of contents and full text articles from both multidisciplinary and discipline-specific journal collections.
Literature Online (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 200 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
Literature Resource Center (LRC) This link opens in a new window
Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
An archive with backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences that provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides 100% full-text access to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
ProQuest One Literature This link opens in a new window
For literature scholars who need an exhaustive set of scholarly resources around a literary topic for research and course planning. 500,000 primary works and millions of records from journals, monographs, and dissertations.

Databases from Other Disciplines

Content found in these databases is often relevant to Shakespearean studies.

All of these resources can be accessed from off-campus, but you will need to enter your Multipass username and password in order to use them.

APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Coverage spans 1887 to present, including international material selected from more than 2,100 periodicals in more than 25 languages. Produced by the American Psychological Association.
Atla Religion This link opens in a new window
The premier index for journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion, with coverage from 1949 and retrospective indexing for several journal issues as far back as the nineteenth century. Journals are selected for inclusion according to their scholarly merit and scope.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, covered in the EBSCOhost database "America: History and Life"). Over 2,000 journals published throughout the world are covered; includes a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews. Updated quarterly.
Philosophy Documentation Center (POIESIS) This link opens in a new window
Access to the full text of a growing number of philosophy journals and serials, containing over 2,300 issues and 340,000 pages of text from 53 journals and series, and most of these are not available in electronic format from any other service. Also provides publishing services.
Religion Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides a wide range of primarily full-text periodicals and other sources for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many worldwide religions. As well as scholarly journals there are many titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion.
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records published by Sociological Abstracts in print during the database's first 11 years, 1952-1962, have been added to the database as of November 2005, extending the depth of the backfile of this authoritative resource.