LibGuides: Shakespeare: A Research Guide: Also Useful for Finding Books

Shakespeare funerary monument, Holy Trinity Church, Stratford-upon-Avon. Public domain. Source: Wikimedia Commons

John Barrymore as Hamlet, 1922. Public domain. Source: Wikimedia Commons

Also Useful for Finding Books

The databases below, while most often searched for journal articles, also are sources for book citations in the secondary literature on Shakespeare and his works.

All of these resources can be accessed from off-campus, but you will need to enter your Multipass username and password in order to use them.

ABELL - Annual Bibliography of English Language and literature
Contains 880,000 records, covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, coverage dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers.

World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
The World Shakespeare Bibliography Online is a searchable electronic database consisting of the most comprehensive record of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide between 1960 and 2013. Containing over 132,640 annotated entries, this collected information is an essential tool for anyone engaged in research on Shakespeare or early modern England.

eBooks on the Web

There are many sources of electronic books on the Internet, providing access to public domain works, including the works of Shakespeare. Links to some of them are below.