All of these instructions are for exporting citations directly from the database. We do not recommend searching databases in EndNote.
For most databases:
1. Click on an article and find "cite," "export," "save," or "download citation" and select the RIS format/EndNote format.
2. Once exported, click on the download and it should automatically open in EndNote. (If not, follow the steps under the Install & Set-Up tab to set EndNote as your default citation manager.)
3. Many databases also allow you to download the citations for an entire search at once in a bulk RIS file. From your main search page, look for words like "export all" to do this.
We've provided step-by-step instructions for the heavily used databases. Don't see the database you're using on this list? Ask a librarian for help!
Once you complete your search, follow these steps to create a text file and then import it into EndNote:
1. Click "Export All" or mark the records you want to download and click "Export Selected":
2. At the "Choose Your Export Options" window:
3. If you chose to Open the file, EndNote desktop should import the citation automatically. If it does not (or you clicked Save), click the Import button or go to File > Import > File.
4. Choose your file. (Hint: It is most likely in your downloads folder as citation-export.txt!)
5. Choose your import option by clicking on the pull down box and selecting "other filters," then finding the Cochrane Library (Wiley) filter. (Hint: Search Cochrane in the Quick Search box.) If you think you may already have some of these citations in your library, select "Discard duplicates" in the Duplicates pull down bar. Then, click "Import."
6. Your references will temporarily be in your Imported References folder. If you have smart groups set up, they will automatically be distributed into those groups, if applicable. If not, you can distribute them into their appropriate group(s). (Hint: Do this now while they're in the temporary folder - if you wait, you'll have to weed them out of your entire library later!)
7. Repeat this process for each type of result you want to import, e.g. Cochrane reviews, other reviews, trials, etc.
We subscribe to many EBSCOhost databases, like Academic Search Elite, ERIC, CINAHL, and PsycINFO. Note: You may want to sign-up for a free EBSCOhost account to store your citations in a folder for bulk download.
Follow these instructions to download citations:
Individual Citation:
1. After conducting your search, select an article of your choosing.
2. Click "Export" on the right side of the screen.
3. Select "Direct Export in RIS Format" and click "Save".
4. Click on the download after it is complete and it will import your citation into EndNote.
5. Your reference will temporarily be in your Imported References folder. If you have smart groups set up, it will automatically be distributed into any groups, if applicable. If not, you can distribute it into the appropriate group(s). (Hint: Do this now while it's in the temporary folder - if you wait, you'll have to find it in your library later!)
Bulk Citations:
For bulk downloads, you will have to first add citations to your "folder" and download them all at once from there.
1. After conducting your search, first click on "Page Options" on the right side of the screen. Increase the results per page to 50, the maximum amount.
2. Click on "Share" on the right side. Add to folder "Results (1-50)". You will have to do this for each page of your results that you wish to download. You may also simply click on the blue folder beside each citation to add citations to your folder one-by-one.
3. After adding all of the citations to the folder, find the folder at the top of the screen in the blue bar.
4. You will see all of your saved citations here. Click "Export" on the right side of the screen.
5. Select the "Direct Export in RIS Format" button on the right. Click "Save" on the left.
6. Click on the download after it is complete and it will import all of your citations into EndNote.
7. Your references will temporarily be in your Imported References folder. If you have smart groups set up, they will automatically be distributed into those groups, if applicable. If not, you can distribute them into their appropriate group(s). (Hint: Do this now while they're in the temporary folder - if you wait, you'll have to find them all in your library later!)
To export up to 25,000 results: If you're doing a systematic review and need to export a very large number of references, you can now do so by using the "Share" menu:
1. Click the "Share" link on the Result List page.
2. Click the "E-mail a link to download exported results" link.
3. Enter your e-mail address and select a preferred export format from the options on the right.
4. EBSCO e-mails you a link to download an export file which you can import into your bibliographic software.
Find Full Text Note:
Find Full Text will not pull any articles from EBSCOhost.
Solution:
Individual Download Only:
1. Before conducting your first search, click on the menu bar and navigate to "Settings."
2. Find "Bibliography Manager" and select the "Show links to export into" button. Choose "EndNote" in the drop-down box. Click "Save." If you're signed into your Google account, these settings will save forever. If not, you may have to do this again the next time you begin a Google session.
3. After conducting your search, you'll now see the "Import into EndNote" link under each article.
4. Your download will automatically begin. Once complete, click on the download and it will import your citation into EndNote.
5. Your reference will temporarily be in your Imported References folder. If you have smart groups set up, it will automatically be distributed into any groups, if applicable. If not, you can distribute it into the appropriate group(s). (Hint: Do this now while it's in the temporary folder - if you wait, you'll have to find it in your library later!)
Method One: (This can be used for an individual or bulk citation download.)
1. After conducting your search, select the boxes for the article(s) of your choosing.
2. Then, click on the "Export Selected Citations" button. Choose "Export an RIS file".
3. Your download will automatically begin. Once complete, click on the download and it will import your citation into EndNote.
4. Your reference(s) will temporarily be in your Imported References folder. If you have smart groups set up, your reference(s) will automatically be distributed into any groups, if applicable. If not, you can distribute your reference(s) into the appropriate group(s). (Hint: Do this now in the temporary folder - if you wait, you'll have to find them in your library later!)
Method Two: (Individual citation download only)
1. After conducting your search, select an article by clicking on the title.
2. Click on the "Cite this item" button on the right.
3. A pop-up box will appear. Click on the "Export a RIS file" link.
4. Your download will automatically begin. Once complete, click on the download and it will import your citation into EndNote.
5. Your reference will temporarily be in your Imported References folder. If you have smart groups set up, it will automatically be distributed into any groups, if applicable. If not, you can distribute it into the appropriate group(s). (Hint: Do this now while it's in the temporary folder - if you wait, you'll have to find it in your library later!)
Find Full Text Note:
Find Full Text will not pull any articles from JSTOR.
Solution:
Individual Download:
1. After conducting your search, select an article by clicking on the title.
2. Click "Save citation" above the title. (You can also simply click "Save" in the list of search results.)
3. Once you've saved all of the citations you need, follow the steps below.
4. Click on Menu in the top right corner, then on MyMUSE Library.
5. Once in the library, click on "Cite Library Items" in the left-hand menu.
6. In the next screen, click on "Select All", so that all of your citations will be sent to EndNote.
7. Then, click on "Export to EndNote".
8. Once the download has completed, click on the file to open it in EndNote.
9. Your references will temporarily be in your Imported References folder. If you have smart groups set up, they will automatically be distributed into those groups, if applicable. If not, you can distribute them into their appropriate group(s). (Hint: Do this now while they're in the temporary folder - if you wait, you'll have to find them all in your library later!)
Individual Download:
1. After conducting your search, click on the article of your choosing.
2. Click on the "Save" button on the right.
3. Select the RIS format. It will automatically download. When it has completed, click on the file to open it in EndNote.
4. Your reference will temporarily be in your Imported References folder. If you have smart groups set up, it will automatically be distributed into any groups, if applicable. If not, you can distribute it into the appropriate group(s). (Hint: Do this now while it's in the temporary folder - if you wait, you'll have to find it in your library later!)
Bulk Download:
1. After conducting your search, scroll down to the bottom of the page to increase the items per page to 100, the maximum.
2. Click the "Select 1-100" box at the top of the page to select all of the articles on that page. ProQuest saves this selection, so you can continue onto any subsequent pages and select the articles on those, as well. When you've selected the final page, click the "Save" button on the top right.
3. Select the RIS format. It will automatically download. When it has completed, click on the file to open it in EndNote.
4. Your references will temporarily be in your Imported References folder. If you have smart groups set up, they will automatically be distributed into any groups, if applicable. If not, you can distribute them into the appropriate group(s). (Hint: Do this now while they're in the temporary folder - if you wait, you'll have to find them all in your library later!)
Individual Download:
1. After conducting your search, click on the article of your choosing.
2. Find the "Send to" drop-down box at the top of the page. Select "Citation Manager" and create the file.
3. When the download has completed, click on the file to open it in EndNote.
4. Your reference will temporarily be in your Imported References folder. If you have smart groups set up, it will automatically be distributed into any groups, if applicable. If not, you can distribute it into the appropriate group(s). (Hint: Do this now while it's in the temporary folder - if you wait, you'll have to find it in your library later!)
Bulk Download:
1. After conducting your search, find the "Send to" drop-down box at the top of the page.
2. Select "Citation Manager" and increase the number to 200, the maximum (or less, if you search is smaller than that.)
3. Create the file. Once downloaded, click on the file to open the citations in EndNote.
4. Your references will temporarily be in your Imported References folder. If you have smart groups set up, they will automatically be distributed into any groups, if applicable. If not, you can distribute them into the appropriate group(s). (Hint: Do this now while they're in the temporary folder - if you wait, you'll have to find them all in your library later!)
5. If you had more than 200 citations to download, go back and repeat the above steps, but change the "Start from citation" to 201. Continue to do this until you've reach the end of your search results.
Journal Abbreviations:
PubMed uses journal abbreviations that EndNote does not automatically register. To fix this, watch this video. (It takes about 5 minutes, but it's worth it!)
Individual Download Only:
Method One:
1. After conducting your search, choose an article and click the "Export Citation" button under the article information.
2. Select the option "Export Citation to RIS."
3. When the download has completed, click on the file to open it in EndNote.
4. Your reference will temporarily be in your Imported References folder. If you have smart groups set up, it will automatically be distributed into any groups, if applicable. If not, you can distribute it into the appropriate group(s). (Hint: Do this now while it's in the temporary folder - if you wait, you'll have to find it in your library later!)
Method Two:
1. After conducting your search, click on an article of your choosing.
2. Click the "Export" drop-down box above the article.
3. Select "RIS" as the export file and "Citation and Abstract" as the content. Click "Export."
4. When the download has completed, click on the file to open it in EndNote.
5. Your reference will temporarily be in your Imported References folder. If you have smart groups set up, it will automatically be distributed into any groups, if applicable. If not, you can distribute it into the appropriate group(s). (Hint: Do this now while it's in the temporary folder - if you wait, you'll have to find it in your library later!)
Individual Download:
1. After conducting your search, click on an article of your choosing.
2. Click the "Export" button above the article.
3. Select the RIS format and any other information you'd like included in your citation download. (We've highlighted our recommendations below.)
4. Click export. When the download has completed, click on the file to open it in EndNote.
5. Your reference will temporarily be in your Imported References folder. If you have smart groups set up, it will automatically be distributed into any groups, if applicable. If not, you can distribute it into the appropriate group(s). (Hint: Do this now while it's in the temporary folder - if you wait, you'll have to find it in your library later!)
Bulk Download:
1. After conducting your search, click the "All" box button to select all of the articles. Then, click "Export."
2. Select the RIS format and any other information you'd like included in your citation download. (We've highlighted our recommendations above in the individual download section.)
3. When the download has completed, click on the file to open it in EndNote.
4. Your references will temporarily be in your Imported References folder. If you have smart groups set up, they will automatically be distributed into any groups, if applicable. If not, you can distribute them into the appropriate group(s). (Hint: Do this now while they're in the temporary folder - if you wait, you'll have to find them all in your library later!)
