Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Greek letter "Psi" - Symbol for Psychology
Public Domain. Source: Wikimedia Commons
Psychology News (websites and databases)
Gumberg Library News Databases
Searching news databases is very helpful if you have a particular topic you're interested in. Example Search: published AND study AND “child development”
Other Databases for Psychology
There are general/multidisciplinary databases that can be useful in searching the literature of psychology.
Click the links below to search them. If you want to use the database off campus, you will need to first enter you Multipass username and password.
Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Offers full text for more than 2,000 serials, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. This multi-disciplinary database covers virtually every area of academic study. More than 100 journals have PDF images back to 1985.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
The largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. indexes content from 24,600 active titles and 5,000 publishers which is rigorously vetted and selected by an independent review board, and uses a rich underlying metadata architecture to connect people, published ideas and institutions.
The most widely-used database at Duquesne University, Google Scholar can be a helpful research tool, if you know its limitations. Below are some importants facts about Google Scholar:
- Contrary to popular belief, it does not index everything - It does not provide "one-stop shopping."
- It is very good for searching cross-disciplinary topics
- It indexes only scholarly materials, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, journal articles
- Materials indexed are from academic publishers, professional societies. preprint repositories, universities. However not all publishers or database vendors take part.
- You can set priorities so that it shows which articles are full text in Gumberg Library databases. Click the link in the box on the right to see how to set Google Scholar priorities.
In the box below you will find some tips for searching Google Scholar.
Click the link directly below to start searching Google Scholar.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Broadly search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, pre-print repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Google Search Tips
- Choose good search terms (specific, concrete, descriptive)
- The Boolean operator AND is assumed - No need to put AND between your search terms to require all terms appear in you search result
- To use the OR operator, put it in capital letters (dogs OR cats)
- Searches all variants of a word (So if you enter "attack." Google Scholar also finds "attacks," "attacked," "attacking")
- To exclude a word put a minus sign (-) in front of it (-king brings finds Martin Luther, but not Martin Luther King, Jr.)
- Place a ~ in front of a word to find synonyms (~protests will retrieve "demonstrations," "riots," etc. as well)
- To search exact phrases, place your phrase in double quotation marks ("employee burnout")
Finding Full Text
Many of the Gumberg Library databases supply not only bibliographic citations for articles, but full text as well. To learn about how to know in if full text is available in any our our resources, click the link below for a page that describes this in detail.
Setting Google Scholar Preferences
Click the link below to learn how to make Google Scholar tell you if an article found in a search result is available full text in a Gumberg Library database.