Skip to main content

Google Scholar: How To...

This guide provides information on the pros/cons of using Google Scholar in the academic setting to supplement library resources. Provided are screenshots for setting up Google Scholar to Gumberg Library, using the advanced search, and additional FAQs.

Set Google Scholar Preferences

How to set preferences in Google Scholar:

To link directly from Google Scholar to Gumberg Library's resources, you must first set your preferences. Set your preferences with the following steps.

Go to Google Scholar and click the Hamburger icon.

A screenshot of the main page of Google Scholar with the "hamburger" menu in the top left outlined

Click the Settings icon.

A screenshot of the expanded hamburger menu with the settings icon outlined

Select Library links on the Scholar Preferences page.

A screenshot of the Google Scholar Setting page, with "Library links" outlined

Search for "Duquesne" and other libraries in the Find Library search box.

Select Duquesne University FullTextFinder@Duquesne, WorldCat, ProQuest, and any other institutions you are affiliated with.

A screenshot of the "Library Links" search bar, with "Duquesne" typed into the bar. The options for FullTextFinder@Duquesne, WorldCat, and ProQuest are checked

If you see other Duquesne University links, do not select them.

Save your preferences.

Perform Basic vs. Advanced Searching

Basic Search

A screenshot of a Google search for "water pollution" AND Mexico 

Start off with several key terms, using quotation marks to group words and phrases together, along with Boolean searching (using AND OR NOT between search terms). 

On the results page, you will see three essential columns:

A screenshot of a results page with the left-hand "Limit and Sort" options outlined. Also noted is the article title (which you can click to access the abstract) and right-side FullTextFinder links with text "These links indicate Duquesne might have full-text"

The left column shows several search refinements for the basic search, including document type (Articles or Legal documents), date range, and sort by relevance or date. The center column contains the search results, which are in default order by relevance. Search results usually contain a linked title of the article, the basic citation information beneath, followed by a brief abstract from the text. The right column will help distinguish which articles are available through Duquesne's website, or available as PDFs through another institution.


Advanced Search

To do an advanced search in Google Scholar, click the Hamburger icon:

Screenshot of Google Scholar with top-left hamburger menu outlined

Click Advanced Search:

Screenshot of hamburger menu options with "Advanced search" outlined                                                                                            

When the Advanced Search Box opens, you can enter search terms, exact phrases, search through specific authors/publications, and create a custom date range:

Screenshot of advanced search with several boxes filled in. The first is "Find articles...with all of the words" with "disease" typed in; the second is "Find articles...with the exact phrase" with "water pollution" filled in; the third is "Return articles dated between" with 2006 and 2018 filled in

Find Full-Text in Google Scholar

Find Full-Text in Google Scholar

After finding a resource, click the Full Text Finder @ Duquesne link on the far right to access Gumberg Library's resources. 

A screenshot of a Google Scholar search result with the FullTextFinder@Duquesne link outlined

When the Full Text Finder window opens, it presents options to get full text. Try clicking Check for full text at the publisher's site or View this text at [database name] first.

A screenshot of the FullTextFinder result page, with the options for locating this resource (Full text from Wiley and ILL) outlined 

If you cannot find electronic full text, click ILL. Full Text Finder will redirect you to the ILLiad Logon. You will need to login using your Duquesne University MultiPass credentials.

A screenshot of the ILLiad logon box

 

 

 

 

 

After you login, the information for the article is automatically filled in; all you have to do is scroll down and submit your request.

If the Find It @ Duquesne does not appear on the right, try these options:

Click on a link if it appears on the far right. The link usually contains the resource in HTML or PDF formats.

A screenshot of a Google Scholar search result with the right-side link "HTML from google.com" highlighted

 

 

 

Click on the title of the document. If the resource asks for a payment, do not purchase the article or book.

A screenshot of a Google Scholar search result with the title ([Book] Environmental chemistry of soils) outlined

 

 

 

 

Another option is searching QuickSearch with the citation information. If you still cannot find full text, please contact a librarian.