The above image is a detail from the painting "Grant and His Generals" painted in 1865 by Ole Peter Hansen Balling. Public domain. Source: Wikimedia Commons
Welcome to this Gumberg Library research guide designed specifically to link users to the many resources the Gumberg Library offers on the literature, art, music, and other cultural productions created during the American Civil War, as well as later works that deal with that formative period. This guide will connect the user to:
Use the tabs at the top of the screen to move to the different types of information sources.
Help is Available!
If at any time in your research you need help, click "Ask Gumberg.". Or you can contact me, Ted Bergfelt, creator of this page. Click to send an email, or you can call me at 412.396.5351.
Trooper Meditating Beside a Grace
Painting by Winslow Homer, 1865? Public domain. Source: Wikimedia Commons
Streaming audio for 75,000+ tracks of classical, jazz, and world music, Naxos also includes opera summaries, librettos, and other text resources related to the study of music. (note: 10 users may access Naxos simultaneously).
Click on a book title to see if it is available for use, or has been checked out of the library.
The Cambridge Companion to Nineteenth-Century American Poetry by 
The Cambridge Companion to Nineteenth-Century American Women's Writing by 
The Historical Times Illustrated Encyclopedia of the Civil War by 
The Library of Congress Civil War Desk Reference by 
To Fight Aloud Is Very Brave: American Poetry and the Civil War by 
Women During the Civil War: An Encyclopedia by 
Words for the Hour: A New Anthology of American Civil War Poetry by Click on the title of a work below to use it.
To use any of these electronic reference books off-campus, you will need to enter your Multipass username and password when you click on a title link.
The Antebellum Era: Primary Documents on Events from 1820-1860 by 
Encyclopedia of the American Civil War by 
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature by 
The World of the Civil War: A Daily Life Encyclopedia by The Gumberg Library provides access to two suites of electronic reference works geared to literature, including mystery and detective fiction. Using both will provide your with a great amount of introductory information on your chosen literary topic.
Both of these collections of resources can be accessed off-campus, but you will have to enter your Multipass username and password word in order to use them.
Gale Literature Resource Center
This database provides information on thousands of authors and literary works. It includes biographies, reviews and news, literary criticism, and topic and work overviews.
Along with the full text of of 350,000 English and American works of literature, this database provides articles from 200 full-text literary journals and other key critical and reference resources.
Gumberg Library subscribes to a number of databases of electronic reference works. These cover all subject areas.
To use any of these electronic reference collections off-campus, you will need to enter your Multipass username and password when you click on a link below.
Detail from the lithograph "The Battle of Chattanooga," by Kurz & Allison, 1888. Public domain. Source: Wikimedia Commons
