LibGuides: Gumberg Library Services for Alumni: Databases for Alumni

Online Resources

Gumberg library's extensive collection of databases is only accessible onsite. For offsite alumni, here is a list of reputable and freely available databases, repositories, and other online resources.

Databases

Many of these databases provide free access to selected articles. If an article you need is available for a fee, checkout the Tools for Finding Full Text section of this guide to see if you might be able to get the article for free.

AGRICOLA
AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) is produced by the National Agricultural Library. It includes journal article citations and abstracts as well as records for books and other content.
more...less...
AGRICOLA covers agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.
ERIC
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) includes education information and research. This free version is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the US Department of Education.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
JSTOR - Open Journals
JSTOR's "collection of Open Access journals cover topical areas in sustainability and security studies, and offer broad coverage in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences."
JSTOR for Independent Researchers
"A registered personal account is a free account that enables you to access, cite, and return to JSTOR content. Your personal account may support your research in a variety of ways depending on your role and affiliations."
MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus produced by the National Library of Medicine. It is an online health information resource for patients and their families and friends.
PubMed
PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally. The PubMed database contains more than 30 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature.
more...less...
For more information about finding full text in PubMed, see How to obtain the full text of an article
PubMed @ Duquesne Tutorial Video
This video shows how to access PubMed @ Duquesne as well as how to conduct a search, apply filters, and find full text. Note: PubMed @ Duquesne can be accessed by alumni. However, the full text options using LibKey Nomad and Browzine are only available to current students.

Tools for Finding Full Text

The tools below can help you find freely available full text. Libaries can help you get articles that are not freely available. See the Finding a Library section of this guide to find a libary that can help you.

Core Discovery
Browser extension that helps you find open access articles
EndNote Click
Browser extension that helps you find open access articles

more...
Google Scholar Button
A browser extension that helps you to find open articles when using Google Scholar

more...
Open Access Button
Browser extension that helps you find open access articles
Unpaywall
Browser extension that helps you find open access articles

When you can't find a free copy...

Contact the corresponding author directly to request a copy
See the Full Text Articles section of this guide to check other possible sources
Go to the Finding a Library section of this guide to find a library that can help you