Databases for Articles
Gumberg databases can be accessed from anywhere by entering your Multipass username and password when prompted
In using these databases, always use the Advanced Search interface, if you have the choice of interfaces.
- MLA International Bibliography (Most comprehensive database for language, literature, and folklore, indexing journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. No full text.)
- Literature Resource Center (Indexes articles from journals and biographical reference content. Completely full text.)
- ProQuest One Literature (Indexes articles from journals, as well as ebooks, reference works, and dissertations. Some full text of articles. Also contains full text of reference works and roughly 500,000 primary sources, such as novels, poems, plays, etc.)
- Literature Online (LION) (A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 200 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.)
- World Shakespeare Bibliography (The best database for Shakespeare studies, maintained by the Folger Shakespeare Library. No full text)
-
Literary Theory (Over 1,000 works, including formal treatises on criticism, essays and manifestos, literary prefaces, theories of imagination, taste and aesthetics, and major examples of contemporary theory, by more than 350 writers trace the history of literary theory and criticism from Plato to Judith Butler.)
- For a selection of other relevant database options, click here
- For all Gumberg databases in the category “English/Literature”
