Figures, from left to right: Clive Bell, Vanessa Bell, E. M. Forster, Roger Fry, Desmond MacCarthy, Lytton Strachey, Leonard Woolf, Virginia Woolf
Artists, from left to right: Roger Fry, Duncan Grant, Dora Carrington, R. Fry, D. Grant, D. Carrington, Vanessa Bell, V. Bell
This research guide will connect you to primary works, reference works, print books and e-books, databases for articles, and other information sources for the Bloomsbury Group.
The Bloomsbury Group was an intellectual and social group of British writers, critics, artists, and economists in the early 20th century, particularly in the Edwardian era and through the interwar period. Its name was derived from Bloomsbury, a nearby district in London, from where its members once lived, worked, or studied together.
For a genre-oriented or literature-focused guide, visit the British Modernist Writers research guide.
Please enter your Multipass username and password when prompted
Please enter your Multipass username and password when prompted
The Cambridge Companion to the Bloomsbury Group
by
Named after a small neighborhood in London where its members settled as young adults, the Bloomsbury Group produced an impressive body of work that yielded British Post-Impressionist painting, literary modernism, the field of macroeconomics, and a new direction for public taste in art. This Companion offers a comprehensive guide to the intellectual and social contexts surrounding Bloomsbury and its coterie, which includes writer Virginia Woolf, economist Maynard Keynes, and art critic Roger Fry, among others. Thirteen chapters from leading scholars and critics explore the Bloomsbury Group's rejection of Victorian values and social mores, their interventions in issues of empire and international politics, their innovations in the literary and visual arts, and more. Complete with a chronology of key events and a detailed guide to further reading, this Companion provides scholars and students of English literature with fresh perspectives on the achievements of this remarkable circle of friends.
The Handbook to the Bloomsbury Group
by
The Handbook to the Bloomsbury Group is the most comprehensive available survey of contemporary scholarship on the Bloomsbury Group - the set of influential writers, artists and thinkers whose members included Virginia Woolf, Leonard Woolf, E.M. Forster, John Maynard Keynes, Vanessa Bell, Clive Bell, Duncan Grant and David Garnett. With chapters written by world leading scholars in the field, the book explores novel avenues of thinking about these pivotal figures and their works opened up by the new modernist studies. It brings together overview essays with detailed illustrative case studies, and covers topics as diverse as feminism, sexuality, empire, philosophy, class, nature and the arts. Setting the agenda for future study of Bloomsbury, this is an essential resource for scholars of 20th-century modernist culture.
The Oxford Encyclopedia Of British Literature
by
From folk ballads to film scripts, this new five-volume encyclopedia covers the entire history of British literature from the seventh century to the present, focusing on the writers and the major texts of what are now the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland. In five hundred substantial essays written by major scholars, the Encyclopedia of British Literature includes biographies of nearly four hundred individual authors and a hundred topical essays with detailed analyses of particular themes, movements, genres, and institutions whose impact upon the writing or the reading of literature was significant. An ideal companion to The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature, this set will prove invaluable for students, scholars, and general readers. For more information, including a complete table of contents and list of contributors, please visit www.oup.com/us/ebl
A War of Individuals
by
This book draws together for the very first time examples of the 'aesthetic pacifism' practised during the Great War by such celebrated individuals as Virginia Woolf, Siegfried Sassoon and Bertrand Russell. In addition, the book outlines the stories of those less well-known who shared the mind-set of the Bloomsbury Group when it came to facing the first 'total war'. The research for this study took five years, gathering evidence from all the major archives in Great Britain and abroad. This is the first time that such wide-ranging evidence has been placed together in order to paint a complete picture of this fascinating form of anti-war expression.
The Bloomsbury Group
by
E-book is on Internet Archive, please register to borrow the book online. Click title to read.
Bloomsbury Portraits
by
E-book is on Internet Archive, please register to borrow the book online. Click title to read.
The Cambridge Companion to E. M. Forster
by
This collection of essays, each one by a recognized expert, provides lively and innovative readings of every aspect of Forster's wide-ranging career. It includes substantial chapters dedicated to his two major novels, Howards End and A Passage to India, and further chapters focus on A Room With a View and Maurice. Forster's connections with the values of Bloomsbury and the lure of Greece and Italy in his work are assessed, as is his vexed relationship with Modernism. Other essays investigate his role as a literary critic, the status of his work within the genres of the novel and the short story, his treatment of sexuality and his attitude to and representation of women. This was the most comprehensive study of Forster's work to be published for many years, providing an invaluable source of comment on and insight into his writings.
The Oxford Handbook of Virginia Woolf (Chapter: Impressionism and Post-Impressionism)
by
With thirty-nine original chapters from internationally prominent scholars, The Oxford Handbook of Virginia Woolf is designed for scholars and graduate students. Feminist to the core, each chapter examines an aspect of Woolf's achievement and legacy. Each contribution offers an overview that is at once fresh and thoroughly grounded in prior scholarship. Six sections focus on Woolf's life, her texts, her experiments, her life as a professional, her contexts, and her afterlife. Opening chapters on Woolf's life address the powerful influences of family, friends, and home. The section on her works moves chronologically, emphasizing Woolf's practice of writing essays and reviews alongside her fiction. Chapters on Woolf's experimentalism pay special attention to the literariness of Woolf's writing, with opportunity to trace its distinctive watermark while 'Professions of Writing', invites readers to consider how Woolf worked in cultural fields including and extending beyond the Hogarth Press and the TLS. The 'Contexts' section moves beyond writing to depict her engagement with the natural world as well as the political, artistic, and popular culture of her time. The final section on afterlives demonstrates the many ways Woolf's reputation continues to grow, across the globe, and across media, in ideas and in artistic expression. Of particular note, chapters explore three distinct Woolfian traditions in fiction: the novel of manners, magical realism, and the feminist novel.
Virginia Woolf and the Bloomsbury Avant-Garde
by
Women of Bloomsbury
by
Painting pictures of Virginia Woolf, her sister Vanessa Bell and Dora Carrington, this book describes the female self in the act of creation. The author uses letters, diaries and literary texts to portray these artists.
Click on any link below to run a search in the online catalog, for all books and other materials on that subject in, or accessible through, the Gumberg Library.
Please enter your Multipass username and password when prompted
Literature Databases
General Databases
This research guide was created by Agaretha Kosasih, English Department Intern, October 2024
If at any time you need help with using Gumberg Library resources, please contact Ted Bergfelt, Humanities Librarian, via email or by phone at 412-396-5351, 8:30 am-4:30 pm ET, Monday-Friday. If he is not available, Ask Gumberg
