Use the databases below to search for journal articles. See Additional Resources if you need help formulating searches or finding full text.
Health Sciences Databases:
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)This link opens in a new windowIndexing for more than 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, this database contains more than 2.9 million records dating back to 1981, as well as complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses’ Association: health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.
Cochrane LibraryThis link opens in a new windowA collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
EmbaseThis link opens in a new windowCovers the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day and all articles are indexed in depth using Elsevier's Life Science thesaurus Embase Indexing and Emtree®.
NEJM Resident 360This link opens in a new windowProvides information to help residents and students successfully navigate their training with foundational clinical knowledge, career insights, and support, from Rotation Prep to interactive teaching and learning tools.
PubMed @ DuquesneThis link opens in a new windowEnables you to connect directly to Gumberg Library holdings via PubMed. PubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, as well as the out-of-scope citations from certain MEDLINE journals; citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing; and some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.
PubMed @ Duquesne Tutorial VideoThis video explains how to access PubMed @ Duquesne, how to conduct a search, use filters, and find full text.
PubMed Clinical QueriesThis link opens in a new windowSearches PubMed with three search filters: (1) Clinical Study Categories (Etiology, Diagnosis, Therapy (default), Prognosis, Clinical prediction guides); (2) Systematic Reviews; (3) Medical Genetics.
