Skip to main content

Curriculum Center: FAQ

   Collections
  1. What is in the Curriculum Center?
    • The Curriculum Center is a collection of PreK-12 educational resources designed to support schools and programs on campus working with children.  Resources include PreK-12 textbooks and supplementary programs for all subject areas, children’s and young adult literature, big books, storytelling kits, curriculum and lesson planning resources, puppets, manipulatives, games and DVDs.  Additional resources and services include an Ellison die cut press system, a touch-screen flat panel technology system and computers.
  2. How many puppets or manipulatives can I borrow from the Curriculum Center at one time?
  3. How many items can I borrow from the Curriculum Center at one time, and for how long?
  4. Can I check out the materials on display in the Curriculum Center?
    • The displays in the Curriculum Center are updated throughout the year.  These materials are presented as suggestions and intended to be checked out. 
  5. Where do I check out Curriculum Center materials?
    • Curriculum Center materials are checked out and returned at the Circulation desk located on the 4th floor of the Gumberg Library. 
   General Information
  1. Can children use the Curriculum Center?
    • Resources in the Curriculum Center are intended for use primarily for Duquesne University students, faculty, staff and alumni working with children.  Parents, guardians or caregivers who bring minors (children under the age of 18) into the library must register at the Circulation Desk and the responsibility for the safety and behavior of children rests with the parent or guardian, and not with library personnel.  In the Curriculum Center, a child must be within arms-length of their parent at all times.  A child will be considered unattended otherwise.  Children may not use the Ellison Machine without immediate adult supervision, may not use the paper cutters under any circumstances and may not use a University computer under any circumstances.  Children in the Curriculum Center may handle ONE manipulative or puppet at a time and all pieces must be returned to their assigned container and placed on a blue return book cart before another manipulative or puppet may be handled.  Parents and guardians should remind children to treat library materials with care and respect and be considerate of other library patrons.  Users and their children will be asked to leave if these guidelines are not followed and University police may be called if a child is left unattended.  Please contact the Circulation desk, the Curriculum Center desk or refer to the Children in the Library Guidelines for more information.
  2. What hours is the Curriculum Center staffed?
    • Please contact the Curriculum Center at 412-396-1858 for staffed hours.  Staffed hours vary by semester.
  3. How do I know if the Curriculum Center is closed for a class session?
    • The weekly schedule is posted on the front door of the Curriculum Center in addition to a sign indicating whether or not the room is currently open or closed.  Please feel free to call the Curriculum Center desk at 412-396-1858 to inquire. 
  4. I am a Duquesne University alumni.  Can I use the Curriculum Center?
    • Upon verification of alumni status and registration in the library's user database, alumni are welcome to use the Curriculum Center materials and services.  Please contact the Circulation desk to register as an alumni with the Gumberg Library.  Please contact the Curriculum Center for specific questions. 
  5. Is the Curriculum Center a quiet study area?
    • The Curriculum Center is not a quiet study area; however, when working in groups please be respectful of one another. 
  6. Can I connect with the Curriculum Center on social media?
    • You can connect with the Curriculum Center via Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest.
  7. How do I make recommendations for an item in the Curriculum Center?
    • The Curriculum Center is always welcome to new recommendations.  Please feel free to leave any of these recommendations with a Curriculum Center staff member, fill out a suggestion form on the counter or recommend an item through the Gumberg Library webpage on the Suggest A Purchase page.
  8. What is in the Curriculum Center?
    • The Curriculum Center is a collection of PreK-12 educational resources designed to support schools and programs on campus working with children.  Resources include PreK-12 textbooks and supplementary programs for all subject areas, children’s and young adult literature, big books, storytelling kits, curriculum and lesson planning resources, puppets, manipulatives, games and DVDs.  Additional resources and services include an Ellison die cut press system, a touchscreen flat panel technology system and computers.
  9. Who can use the Curriculum Center?
    • The Curriculum Center materials and services are available to all current students, staff, administration, faculty, and alumni of Duquesne University. 
  10. I would like to practice for a presentation.  Can I use the technology in the Curriculum Center?
    • Please contact a Curriculum Center staff member to set up a time to practice for a presentation.
  11. Can I use my cell phone in the Curriculum Center?
    • In the Curriculum Center, cell phones should be put on vibrate, and we ask that all phone calls be taken outside of the room. 
  12. Can I print black and white copies from the Curriculum Center?
    • The computers in the Curriculum Center are connected to a printer located directly outside of the room across from the Mac computer station. 
   Services
  1. What hours is the Curriculum Center staffed?
    • Please contact the Curriculum Center at 412-396-1858 for staffed hours.  Staffed hours vary by semester.
  2. How do I find an item in the Curriculum Center?
    • The Curriculum Center is organized by location.  When searching through Encore please note the location listed after the call number on each individual item.  If the Curriculum Center is unstaffed please refer to the blue signs on the end of each row.
  3. I can't find an item in the Curriculum Center.  What do I do?
    • Please ask a staff member at the Curriculum Center desk for assistance.  If the Curriculum Center is unstaffed, please ask the Circulation staff on the 4th floor.
  4. Is the Curriculum Center a quiet study area?
    • The Curriculum Center is not a quiet study area; however, when working in groups please be respectful of one another. 
  5. Does the Curriculum Center sell materials for projects?
    • The Curriculum Center sells Sharpie markers for $1.00 and glue sticks for $0.50.  We do not sell paper, cardstock, poster board or presentation boards. 
  6. Does the Curriculum Center provide materials for projects?
    • The Curriculum Center has a bin of recycled magazines that can be used for projects, as well as Elmer’s glue and a container of colored pencils, markers and crayons.  We do not provide paper, poster board, Sharpie markers, tape, glue sticks, etc. 
  7. Is color printing available in the library?
    • Color printing is available in the Curriculum Center at a cost of $1.00 per page, payable by cash or check.  This service is separate and cannot be combined with your CTS print quota or Duquesne Flex Dollars.  This service is only available during staffed Curriculum Center hours.
  8. Is laminating available in the library?
    • The Curriculum Center provides laminating at the cost of $0.50 per foot and width of laminate is 27 inches.  Payable by cash or check, this service is separate and cannot be combined with your Duquesne Flex Dollars.  This service is only available during staffed Curriculum Center hours.
  9. Is binding available in the library?
    • The Curriculum Center provides comb binding at the cost of $2.00 per item.  Binding includes clear plastic covers and can be a max of 250 pages, payable by cash or check.  This service is separate and cannot be combined with your Duquesne Flex Dollars.  This service is only available during staffed Curriculum Center hours.
  10. Where can I get information on the Scholastic Book Fairs?
    • Scholastic Book Fairs are held each year between Thanksgiving and Christmas and again in late March or early April.  Please contact Danielle Henzler for more information.
  11. Where can I get information on the Scholastic Book Order program?
    • Scholastic Book Order forms are available in the Curriculum Center throughout the fall and spring semesters.  Please contact the Curriculum Center at 412-396-1858 for any specific questions regarding your book orders.  
  12. Do I have to pay to use the Ellison Machine?
    • The Ellison Machine is free to use; however, the Curriculum Center does not provide paper for any Ellison Machine projects. 
  13. How do I use the Ellison Machine?
    •  Please ask a Curriculum Center staff member for assistance in using the Ellison Machines
  14. I need to make a bulletin board.  Can the library help?
    • The Curriculum Center is a great resource that provides color printing services and Ellison Machines for visually creative projects. 
  15. The Curriculum Center is closed for a class session.  Can I use the Ellison Machine?
    • When a class is in session the Ellison Machines are not available for use. 
  16. The Curriculum Center is closed for a class session.  Can I use the computers?
    • When a class is in session the computers are not available for use. 
  17. The Curriculum Center is closed for a class session.  Can I get a book?
    • During a class session, simply use one of the two doors located at the back of the Curriculum Center to quietly access the materials that you need.  The staff members seated at the Curriculum Center desk can be asked for assistance by using the front door.  Please do not walk through and disrupt the class in session.
  18. Can I use the Curriculum Center when it is unstaffed?
    • You are welcome to use the Curriculum Center during all library hours.  Materials are checked out at the 4th floor Circulation desk.  However, the Curriculum Center services are only available when a staff member is working. 
   Ellison Machine
  1. Do I have to pay to use the Ellison Machine?
    • The Ellison Machine is free to use; however, the Curriculum Center does not provide paper for any Ellison Machine projects. 
  2. How do I use the Ellison Machine?
  3. How can I find out what dies the Curriculum Center has for the Ellison Machine?
    • While in the Curriculum Center please refer to the Ellison binders for examples of each die in our collection.  Click here to view the Ellison Machine dies included in the Curriculum Center’s collection, arranged by subject.
  4. I need to make a bulletin board.  Can the library help?
    • The Curriculum Center is a great resource that provides color printing services and Ellison Machines for visually creative projects. 
  5. The Curriculum Center is closed for a class session.  Can I use the Ellison Machine?
    • When a class is in session the Ellison Machines are not available for use.