American's wearing gas masks during World War I. Public Domain. Wikimedia Commons
Welcome to this Gumberg Library research guide designed to connect users to materials on various wars of modern times. It will link you to reference works, print and electronic, good for finding basic information, to books (ebooks and print), and to databases in many fields, to find magazine and journal articles from today and from the past. This guide will also link you to databases of primary source material and dissertations.
To access these electronic resources, please enter your Multipass username and password when prompted.
To access these electronic resources, please enter your Multipass username and password when prompted.
American Women During World War II: An Encyclopedia by 
The A to Z of World War I by 
The A to Z of World War II: The War Against Japan by 
The Cambridge Companion to the Literature of the First World War by 
The Cambridge Companion to the Literature of World War II by 
Combat Operations of the Korean War by 
Encyclopedia of Military Science by 
Encyclopedia of Prisoners of War and Internment by 
Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War by 
Encyclopedia of War and American Society by 
Gale Encyclopedia of World History: War
Historical Dictionary of the War in Vietnam by 
Historical Dictionary of U. S. Diplomacy from World War I Through World War II by 
The Routledge Handbook of War and Society: Afghanistan and Iraq by To access these electronic resources, please enter your Multipass username and password when prompted.
Warfare and Armed Conflicts: A Statistical Encyclopedia of Casualty and Other Figures, 1492-2015 by 
World War II at Sea: An Encyclopedia by 
Cold War Culture: Media and the Arts, 1945-1990 by 
A Dictionary of Forces' Slang, 1939-1945 by 
Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War by 
An Encyclopedia of War and Ethics by 
Women under the Third Reich: A Biographical Dictionary by 
World War II: Visual EncyclopediaTo access these electronic resources, please enter your Multipass username and password when prompted.
From the Poetry Foundation & Manual Cinema (2018)
If at any time you need help with using Gumberg Library resources, please contact Ted Bergfelt, Humanities Librarian, via email or by phone at 412-426-5430, 8:30 am-4:30 pm ET, Monday-Friday. If he is not available, Ask Gumberg
