Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Which Statistical Test Should You Use for Parametric Data?
This table will help you understand which test you should use for your analysis using parametric data. Note that this is not a comprehensive list. Please see the glossary if you want to know the definition of a term.
|Single-sample t test
Compare the mean of your sample to a known mean
Ex: How does your community's health index compare to the national average?
|Dependent variable (the variable you are testing): ratio or interval
|Independent-samples t test
Compares the means of two groups for a single dependent variable
Ex: Do people who drink milk weigh less than people who don't?
Independent variable (the groups): two levels
Dependent variable (the variable you are testing): ratio or interval
|Paired-samples t test
Compares means of two scores from related samples
Ex: Student scores on a pre-test and a post-test
Independent variable: one group
Dependent variable: the same scale for both times measured, interval or ratio
Compares the means of groups that vary for a single independent variable
Ex: How does the weight of those who drink no milk, those who drink 2%, and those who drink skim milk compare?
Independent variable: can have many groups; must be independent
Dependent variable: interval or ratio
Compares the means for multiple independent variables with multiple levels
Ex: How does course format (online or face-to-face) and instructor experience (novice or experienced) impact student grades? (This is a 2 x 2 ANOVA, there are two independent variables with two levels)
Independent variable: can have many groups with different levels, should be independent
Dependent variable: interval or ratio
Compares means for related groups for more than one level of an independent variable
Ex: How do the exam scores of students compare at the beginning of the course, on the midterm, and with the final exam?
Dependent variable: measures should be from same or similar group, interval or ratio
Compare the means for multiple dependent variables at once
Ex: How do students who live on or off campus compare for GPA and satisfaction scores?
|Dependent variables: should be related to each other, interval or ratio
Statistics: A Complete Introduction is the most comprehensive yet easy-to-use introduction to using Statistics. Written by a leading expert, this book will help you if you are studying for an important exam or essay, or if you simply want to improve your knowledge. The book covers all the key areas of Statistics including graphs, data interpretation, spreadsheets, regression, correlation and probability. Everything you will need is here in this one book. Each chapter includes not only an explanation of the knowledge and skills you need, but also worked examples and test questions.
Publication Date: 2013-03-29
Modern statistics is very different from the dry and dusty discipline of the popular imagination. In its place is an exciting subject which uses deep theory and powerful software tools to shed light and enable understanding. And it sheds this light on all aspects of our lives, enablingastronomers to explore the origins of the universe, archaeologists to investigate ancient civilisations, governments to understand how to benefit and improve society, and businesses to learn how best to provide goods and services. Aimed at readers with no prior mathematical knowledge, this iVery Short Introduction/i explores and explains how statistics work, and how we can decipher them.
Publication Date: 2008-12-15
Applied Univariate, Bivariate, and Multivariate Statistics by
A clear and efficient balance between theory and application of statistical modeling techniques in the social and behavioral sciences Written as a general and accessible introduction, Applied Univariate, Bivariate, and Multivariate Statistics provides an overview of statistical modeling techniques used in fields in the social and behavioral sciences. Blending statistical theory and methodology, the book surveys both the technical and theoretical aspects of good data analysis. Featuring applied resources at various levels, the book includes statistical techniques such as t-tests and correlation as well as more advanced procedures such as MANOVA, factor analysis, and structural equation modeling. To promote a more in-depth interpretation of statistical techniques across the sciences, the book surveys some of the technical arguments underlying formulas and equations. Applied Univariate, Bivariate, and Multivariate Statistics also features Demonstrations of statistical techniques using software packages such as R and SPSS#65533; Examples of hypothetical and real data with subsequent statistical analyses Historical and philosophical insights into many of the techniques used in modern social science A companion website that includes further instructional details, additional data sets, solutions to selected exercises, and multiple programming options An ideal textbook for courses in statistics and methodology at the upper- undergraduate and graduate-levels in psychology, political science, biology, sociology, education, economics, communications, law, and survey research, Applied Univariate, Bivariate, and Multivariate Statistics is also a useful reference for practitioners and researchers in their field of application. DANIEL J. DENIS, PhD, is Associate Professor of Quantitative Psychology at the University of Montana where he teaches courses in univariate and multivariate statistics. He has published a number of articles in peer-reviewed journals and has served as consultant to researchers and practitioners in a variety of fields.
Publication Date: 2015-12-14
Discovering Statistics Using IBM SPSS Statistics by
Unrivaled in the way it makes the teaching of statistics compelling and accessible to even the most anxious of students, the only statistics textbook you and your students will ever need just got better! Andy Field's comprehensive and bestselling Discovering Statistics Using SPSS 4th Edition takes students from introductory statistical concepts through very advanced concepts, incorporating SPSS throughout. The Fourth Edition focuses on providing essential content updates, better accessibility to key features, more instructor resources, and more content specific to select disciplines. It also incorporates powerful new digital developments on the textbook's companion website.
Call Number: HA32 .F54 2013 - 3rd floor
Publication Date: 2013-01-24
SPSS Survival Manual by
""It reads as though someone is sitting next to you conversing with you and taking you through it ... It has a reassuring tone. Julie Pallant writes in a kind and inclusive way which students appreciate." Sue Thorpe, Lecturer in Research Methods, Department of Psychology, University of Surrey, UK. "Its key strengths are clarity, clear English, clear explanations, and clear examples. What this book does well is to provide easy, straightforward explanations." Martin Lea, Senior Lecturer, School of Psychological Sciences, University of Manchester, UK. "An excellent introduction to using SPSS for data analysis... It provides a self-contained resource itself, with more than simply (detailed and clear) step-by-step descriptions of statistical procedures in SPSS. There is also a wealth of tips and advice, and for each statistical technique a brief, but consistently reliable, explanation is provided." Associate Professor George Dunbar, Department of Psychology, University of Warwick, UK. " Julie Pallant's "SPSS Survival Manual" throws a lifeline to students and researchers grappling with this data analysis software. In this thoroughly revised edition of her bestselling text, now covering up to version 18 of the SPSS software, Julie Pallant guides you through the entire research process, helping you choose the right data analysis technique for your project. From the formulation of research questions, to the design of the study and analysis of data, to reporting the results, Julie discusses basic and advanced statistical techniques. She outlines each technique clearly, with easy to follow step-by-step procedures for performing the analysis, a detailed guide to interpreting data output and an example of how to present the results in a report. In this fourth edition all chapters have been updated to accommodate changes to SPSS procedures, screens and output. A number of additional techniques (McNemar's Test, Cochran's Q Test) have been included in the Non_parametric Statistics chapter. For both beginners and experienced users in psychology, sociology, health sciences, medicine, education, business and related disciplines, the "SPSS Survival Manual" is THE essential guide. Illustrated with screen grabs, examples of output and tips, it is supported by a website with sample data and guidelines on report writing.
Call Number: HA32 .P35 2010X - 3rd floor
Publication Date: 2010-11-01
Using SPSS for Social Statistics and Research Methods by
Ideal as a companion to a statistics or research methods text or as a stand-alone guide, Using SPSS for Social Statistics and Research Methods shows readers how to use SPSS software in statistical data analysis. This fully updated Second Edition features images and directions drawn from SPSS Version 17.0 and now uses the latest version of the GSS (General Social Survey) as a secondary data set. New and Continuing Features Offers a fully updated graphics chapter that highlights new features available in SPSS 17.0, including information on alternative routes to creating graphics Includes updated examples, screenshots, and tables throughout Briefly introduces statistical techniques before moving on to demonstrations Offers new or expanded discussions of regression, correlation, t-test, chi-square, lambda, gamma/somers' d, and ANOVA Uses several kinds of computer files including data files, output files, and syntax files Covers a wide range of data analysis topics to help students who are working independently on a research proposal, project, or paper This supplementary text is designed as a manual for SPSS use for social statistics and research methods classes and is an excellent companion to any undergraduate statistics or research methods textbook. It will also serve as a useful reference for those learning to use the SPSS software for the first time.
Call Number: HA32 .W34 2010 - 3rd floor
Publication Date: 2009-02-25
The Basic Practice of Statistics by
David Moore's data analysis (conceptual) approach, which revolutionized the introductory statistics textbook, moves students away from formulas and number-crunching, focusing instead on how working statisticians in a variety of fields collect and analyze data, and use the results to tackle real-world problems. The clear, direct way of emphasizing the course's relevance and confronting students' math anxieties is at the heart of the bestselling The Basic Practice of Statistics (BPS). It is also the ideal approach for taking full advantage of the powerful statistical tools and interactive learning features in this new edition's text/media package. Now more than ever, BPS is ready to help students move from reading about statistical practice to practicing statistics themselves. Maximize Teaching and Learning with WebAssign Premium Macmillan Learning and WebAssign have partnered to deliver WebAssign Premium - a comprehensive and flexible suite of resources for your math for teachers course. Combining the most widely used online homework platform with authoritative textbook content and Macmillan's esteemed Mathtools, WebAssign Premium extends and enhances the classroom experience for instructors and students. Preview course content and sample assignments at www.webassign.net/whfreeman.
Call Number: QA276.12 .M648 2015x - 2nd floor
Publication Date: 2015-01-09
Naked Statistics by
Once considered tedious, the field of statistics is rapidly evolving into a discipline Hal Varian, chief economist at Google, has actually called “sexy.” From batting averages and political polls to game shows and medical research, the real-world application of statistics continues to grow by leaps and bounds. How can we catch schools that cheat on standardized tests? How does Netflix know which movies you’ll like? What is causing the rising incidence of autism? As best-selling author Charles Wheelan shows us in Naked Statistics, the right data and a few well-chosen statistical tools can help us answer these questions and more. For those who slept through Stats 101, this book is a lifesaver. Wheelan strips away the arcane and technical details and focuses on the underlying intuition that drives statistical analysis. He clarifies key concepts such as inference, correlation, and regression analysis, reveals how biased or careless parties can manipulate or misrepresent data, and shows us how brilliant and creative researchers are exploiting the valuable data from natural experiments to tackle thorny questions. And in Wheelan’s trademark style, there’s not a dull page in sight. You’ll encounter clever Schlitz Beer marketers leveraging basic probability, an International Sausage Festival illuminating the tenets of the central limit theorem, and a head-scratching choice from the famous game show Let’s Make a Deal—and you’ll come away with insights each time. With the wit, accessibility, and sheer fun that turned Naked Economics into a bestseller, Wheelan defies the odds yet again by bringing another essential, formerly unglamorous discipline to life.
Call Number: QA276 .W458 2013 - 2nd floor
Publication Date: 2013-01-07
Renowned for its clear prose and no-nonsense emphasis on core concepts, Statistics covers fundamentals using real examples to illustrate the techniques. The Fourth Edition has been carefully revised and updated to reflect current data. New data for the Fourth Edition Continuing to develop statistical concepts using real data, the Fourth Edition features intriguing examples from medicine, business, genetics, economics, law, psychology, and other fields. Most of the numbers have been updated for the Fourth Edition. There are new results from the 2000 census, the 2004 Gallup Poll, the 2005 Current Population Survey, and more. Intuitive organization teaches study design early in the text Statistics, Fourth Edition, introduces controlled experiments and observational studies in the first two chapters, developing the ideas of study design before moving on to descriptive statistics, sampling, and inference. Classroom-tested problems Honed by the authors' teaching experience, the problems in the Fourth Edition test new concepts as they are presented, challenging students to make qualitative judgments and rough estimates as well as numerical calculations. Assumptions underlying the correct use of statistical procedures are explored in detail, as are the consequences of using techniques when assumptions are not satisfied. Accessible coverage and pedagogy In clear and direct prose, this classic text conveys statistics as a way of thinking about the world rather than as a set of abstract concepts. Beyond the examples of current interest, there are engaging historical examples to illustrate enduring questions of statistical analysis. Mathematical concepts are integrated with the reading to ensure that students understand the relation between the concepts and the real world. There are many computer graphics to display the data, as well as freehand working drawings. On the lighter side, the Fourth Edition features cartoons by New Yorker artists Dana Fradon and Leo Cullum.
Call Number: QA276 .F683 2007 - 2nd floor
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
All print books available at Gumberg. Please click the linked title to make sure it is not checked out.
Download Statistical Software