LibGuides: Simone Weil: Home

image

Philosopher, theologian, teacher, rebel, social activist, and mystic, Simone Weil did not publish much during her lifetime, but, since her death in 1943 has become increasingly influential in many fields. Her writing and example have helped to shape the thinking of persons as various as Saint John XXIII and Pope Paul VI, former Archbishop of Canterbury Rowan Williams, and the existentialist writer Albert Camus.

This research guide is designed to connect the user with a wide range of different types of materials about this 20th century giant of thought and spirit.

Introductory Articles

You will need to enter your Multipass username and password when you click on a link below.

"Simone Weil," from the Encyclopedia of Philosophy, 2nd Edition

"Simone Weil," from the Gale Contextual Encyclopedia of World Literature

"Simone Weil (19091943)" from Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy

"Simone Weil" from Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Important Essays

"Draft for a Statement on Human Obligation"

"The Iliad, or The Poem of Force"

"Reflections on the Right Use of School Studies with a View to the Love of God"

"Uprootedness", from the Need for Roots: Prelude to a Declaration of Duties Towards Mankind

The Living Philosophy of Simone Weil

Major Works

Gravity and Grace
Call Number: B2430.W473 P43 1952X
Publication Date: 1952
Intimations of Christianity Among the Ancient Greeks
Call Number: B172 .W34 1957X
Publication Date: 1957
Lectures on Philosophy
Call Number: B2430.W473 L3513 - 2nd Floor & Phenomenology Center
Publication Date: 1978
Letter to a Priest
Call Number: B2430.W473 L43 1953X
Publication Date: 1953
The Need for Roots : Prelude to a Declaration of Duties toward Mankind
Call Number: HM216 .W352 1955X
Publication Date: 1955
The Notebooks of Simone Weil
Call Number: B2430.W474 A32 1976X VOL.1
Publication Date: 1976
On Science, Necessity, and the Love of God
Call Number: B2430.W472 E55 1968x
Publication Date: 1968
Oppression and Liberty
Call Number: HX266 .W3813X
Publication Date: 1958
Seventy Letters
Call Number: B2430.W474 A43
Publication Date: 1965
Simone Weil: An Anthology
Call Number: B2430.W472 E55 1986a
Publication Date: 1986

Major Works (cont,)

–––– Primary Sources ––––

Simone Weil: Late Philosophical Writings
Call Number: B2430.W472 E55 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Waiting for God
Call Number: B2430 .W473 A7713 1973X
Publication Date: 1973

Find Books

Click on any link below to run a search in the online catalog, for all books and other materials on that subject in, or accessible through, the Gumberg Library.

Themes

Find Articles

You will need to enter your Multipass username and password when you click on a link below.

How do you find full text?

Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window A bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews. Updated quarterly.
Philosophy Documentation Center (POIESIS) This link opens in a new window Access to the full text of a growing number of philosophy journals and serials, containing over 2,300 issues and 340,000 pages of text from 53 journals and series, and most of these are not available in electronic format from any other service. Also provides publishing services.
Atla Religion This link opens in a new window The premier index for journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion, with coverage from 1949 and retrospective indexing for several journal issues as far back as the nineteenth century. Journals are selected for inclusion according to their scholarly merit and scope.
Religion Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Provides a wide range of primarily full-text periodicals and other sources for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many worldwide religions. As well as scholarly journals there are many titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion.
Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Offers full text for more than 2,000 serials, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. This multi-disciplinary database covers virtually every area of academic study. More than 100 journals have PDF images back to 1985.
Scopus This link opens in a new window The largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. indexes content from 24,600 active titles and 5,000 publishers which is rigorously vetted and selected by an independent review board, and uses a rich underlying metadata architecture to connect people, published ideas and institutions.

Find Dissertations

To access electronic resources you will need to enter your Multipass information when prompted.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global This link opens in a new window The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research -- includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download. More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertations publishing partnerships with 700 leading academic institutions worldwide, and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations.

Simone Weil: Home