LibGuides: Opioid Crisis: Public Policy and Law

Finding Resources in Your Field

Or browse our complete list of databases.

Suggested Searches:

Use these subject terms in the databases or QuickSearch to explore topics further. Mix and match to narrow down your search, like Opioids AND Drug addiction!

Drug abuse
Drug abuse AND Treatment
Drug abuse AND Prevention
Drug addiction
Drug control AND United States
Drug dependence
Drug enforcement
Drug use
Drugs AND Government policy
Heroin
Heroin abuse
Morphine
Morphine abuse
Naloxone
Opioid abuse
Opioids
Opioids AND Addiction
Opium
Pregnancy AND Opioids
Substance abuse

For a Public Policy and Law focus...

Databases:

PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
This database chronicles issues in the public debate through highly selective coverage of a wide variety of sources including journal articles, books, government documents, and more.
Criminal Justice Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database of US and international criminal justice journals.
Political Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database contains over 460 leading political science and international relations journals.

Web Resources:

SAMHSA: Criminal and Juvenile Justice
Topics on criminal justice and substance abuse from the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration.
SAMHSA: Substance Use Regulations and Mandates
Find out about some regulations and mandates supported by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration.
HSS: Law Enforcement Resources
A list of opioid-related law enforcement documents and sites. (From the Dept. of Health and Human Services)
Capitol Hill Connector: Opioid and Heroin Epidemic
Updates on policies from the National Council for Behavioral Health.
The US Opioid Crisis: Current Federal and State Legal Issues
(Article from Anesthesia & Analgesia)
Emergency Legal Authority and the Opioid Crisis
(Article from the New England Journal of Medicine)
Opioid Prescribing Guidelines
Guidelines for prescribing opioids for different populations and situations. (From the PA Dept. of Health)
Opioid/Heroin Reversal
Read about David's Law (Opioid Overdose Reversal Act 139) and what it means for first responders and the community. (From the PA Dept. of Drug and Alcohol Programs)