LibGuides: Occupational Therapy (OT): Web Resources

Web Resources

See the following online resources for general OT resources, patient toolkits, and adaptive equipment resources.

General OT Resources

These databases and information portals provide access to several OT-centered articles.

National Rehabilitation Information Center (NARIC) The National Rehabilitation Information Center (NARIC) is the library of the National Institute on Disability, Independent Living, and Rehabilitation Research (NIDILRR). We collect, catalog, and disseminate the articles, reports, curricula, guides, and other publications and products of the research projects funded by NIDILRR.

OTDBASE This link opens in a new window This occupational therapy journal literature search service is the only internet-based indexing and abstracting service that contains over 8000 abstracts from over 20 national and international occupational therapy journals dated from 1970 to the present.

OTseeker OTseeker is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions. Most trials have been critically appraised for their validity and interpretability. In one database, OTseeker provides fast and easy access to information from a wide range of sources to inform occupational therapy.
Physiopedia Physiopedia is a living, community built website. Any physiotherapist anywhere in the world can contribute their knowledge to the site and share it with the world. This community of over 5,500 editors values the importance of sharing knowledge to empower physiotherapists all over the world to enhance patient care and the resulting health people in need.

Patient Toolkits and Resources

The following resources link to numerous free patient toolkits, handouts, activities, and informational guides relevant to occupational therapists working with individuals of all ages.

OT Resource Guide - CEUfast Provides a list of some resources relevant to sensory processing, fine and visual motor skills, and general materials/resources. Variety of resources for children and adults.
OT Resources - Therapy OPS This list of recommended websites outlines resources for sensory processing, fine & visual motor skills, therapy products, and recommended books.
The OT Toolbox (for children) A website providing numerous pediatric OT resources for parents, therapists, and teachers. Plenty of activities, handouts, and other exercises for children and young adults.
The OT Toolkit (for adults) Patient handouts and treatment guides for adult and geriatric OT/PT patients. Resources are indexed by category, with several links to various tools and exercises.
OT Web-Based Resources - Greene ESC A list of free OT resources relevant to fine motor needs, visual motor skills sensory processing, and technology interventions.

Adaptive Equipment Resources

These resources provide background on the various types of adaptive equipment. Additionally, some links provide access options for patients in Pennsylvania.

Adaptive Equipment for Eating - OT Toolbox This article covers adaptive equipment for eating, including adaptive feeding equipment, assistive feeding devices, adaptive utensils, plates, bowls, and other tools to support functional feeding skills.
Assistive Technology - PA Department of Human Services Provided by the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania's DHS, this list of resources provides organizations with information/accessibility to adaptive tech.
disABILITY Information and Resources This list of resources provides information for individuals with disabilities including news groups, legal and advocacy resources, adaptive technology, and more.
Must-Know Adaptive Equipment for OTs - My OT Spot This article by Meredith Chandler breaks down various adaptive equipment by category, providing definitions for each term as well as links to examples of most items.
Pennsylvania Assistive Technology Foundation (PATF) Pennsylvania Assistive Technology Foundation (PATF) is a statewide, non-profit organization that helps individuals with disabilities and older Pennsylvanians acquire the assistive technology devices and services they want.