Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Historical Newspaper Collections at Gumberg
Pittsburgh Courier, 1911-2002 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
One of the oldest and most prestigious Black newspapers in the United States, with a rich and storied history, searchable coverage from 1911 -- 2002. Find first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, 1786-2003 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Searchable full text of the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette from 1786 - 2003.
New York Times,1851 - 2007 -- (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
The New York Times (1851-2007) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Wall Street Journal, 1889 - 1993 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
The Wall Street Journal (1889-1993) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Nineteenth-Century U.S. Newspapers
Provides access to approximately 1.7 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.
17th & 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
The most comprehensive collection of early English newspapers. Titles from London, British Isles, and colonies; includes 1 million newspaper pages, newsbooks, Acts of Parliament, addresses, broadsides, pamphlets & proclamations.
Free Historic Newspapers Online
Mostly maintained by Pennsylvania institutions. List compiled by Penn State.
Historic Duquesne Duke (1925-2010)
The Duquesne Duke, the student newspaper of Duquesne University, published its first issue on March 5, 1925. Except for a brief interruption in the 1940's, the Duke has been continuously published since that time. Presented here in full-text searchable format, the Duke includes all available issues from 1925-2010.
The Catholic News Archive
Thousands of Catholic newspaper pages, from different cities, over multiple years... and the collection is growing!