It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
EmbaseThis link opens in a new windowCovers the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day and all articles are indexed in depth using Elsevier's Life Science thesaurus Embase Indexing and Emtree®.
ScienceDirectThis link opens in a new windowFull text of hundreds of scientific, technical, and medical journals published by Elsevier, Academic Press, and selected additional publishers from 1995 to present, and enables searching of abstracts of articles from more than 3,000 journals.
JoVEThis link opens in a new windowA peer reviewed, PubMed-indexed journal devoted to the publication of biological, medical, chemical, and physical scientific experiments in a video format.
CDC 2022 U.S Map & Case Count of Monkeypox
Image taken September 28th, 2022. For updated information click the map.
The following health organizations can provide a starting point to information about Monkeypox that is accessible to the public.
Most textbook sources will only include one or more chapters to discuss Monkeypox or the Pox family of viruses within the context of a broader subject. You can find more books available within Gumberg's collections using DUQ Search. Learn more about DUQ Search with this guide.
Veterinary Microbiology, Third Edition is a comprehensive reference on the bacterial, fungal, and viral pathogenic agents that cause animal disease. Now in full color with improved images throughout, the new edition has been thoroughly updated to reflect information from current research and diagnostic and clinical publications. Key changes include a review of microbial cell structure and function and increased emphasis on the key points of pathogenesis and host responses to infection.
Viruses are the most abundant biological entities on Earth, and arguably the most successful. They are not technically alive, but as infectious vehicles of genetic information, they have a remarkable capacity to invade, replicate, and evolve within living cells. Synthesizing a large body of recent research, Michael Cordingley goes beyond our familiarity with viral infections to show how viruses spur evolutionary change in their hosts, shape global ecosystems, and influence every domain of life. In the last few decades, research has revealed that viruses are fundamental to the photosynthetic capacity of the world's oceans and the composition of the human microbiome.
Access Chapter 11: Poxviruses for information about Monkeypox.
The most dynamic, comprehensive, and student-friendly text on the nature of microorganisms and the fascinating processes they employ in producing infections disease A Doody's Core Title For more than a quarter-of-a-century, no other text has explained the link between microbiology and human disease states better than Sherris Medical Microbiology. Through a vibrant, engaging approach, this classic gives readers a solid grasp of the significance of etiologic agents, the pathogenic processes, epidemiology, and the basis of therapy for infectious diseases.
E-books can be found through several different databases.
Books @ OvidThis link opens in a new windowFull text of more than 150 books from Lippincott Williams & Wilkins and the Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research.
eBook Collection (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowEBSCO's ebook collection includes a wide selection of academic e-books including reference works, scholarly monographs, literature, and fiction from top publishers and presses.
UpToDateThis link opens in a new windowLogin with your UpToDate username and password. First Time Users must register before logging in. See the UpToDate Guide for more information.
CDC Updates on Monkeypox
Check for the latest articles and site updates published by the CDC.
News on the Virus
Search these news sources for current events about Monkeypox.
Newspaper SourceThis link opens in a new windowProvides selected full text for 25 national (U.S.) and international newspapers.
Try using the Libkey Nomad extension to find full text pdf options for you.
Misinformation about Monkeypox
Alongside carefully interrogating the validity of your sources of information, there is published research and tools for investigating misinformation. Some selected resources are listed below.
Ortiz-MartínezY., SarmientoJ., Bonilla-AldanaD. K., & Rodríguez-MoralesA. J. (2022). Monkeypox goes viral: measuring the misinformation outbreak on Twitter. The Journal of Infection in Developing Countries, 16(07), 1218-1220. https://doi.org/10.3855/jidc.16907
Interactive Media Bias Chart
This interactive graph produced by Ad Fontes Media rates news sources on their reliability and political bias.
To read more about misinformation, check out this Gumberg research guide.