LibGuides: Liberation Theology: Home

gutierrez

Fr. Gustavo Gutierrez Merino, author of A Theology of Liberation: History, Politics, Salvation (1971), one of the founders of Liberation Theology. Photo by Mohan. Public Domain. Source: Wikimedia Commons

Church Documents

Instruction on Christian Freedom and Liberation
From the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith
Instruction on certain Aspects of the "Theology of Liberation"I
From the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith
Encyclicals
Compendium of the Social Doctrine of the Church

Find Articles

Please enter your Multipass username and password when prompted.

Learn how to find full text

Atla Religion This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
New Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Old Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Philosophy Documentation Center (POIESIS) This link opens in a new window
Religion Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window

Religious & Theological Abstracts

Related Research Guides

New CRRA Box

Click the button above to visit the Atla/CRRA website, home now of the Catholic Portal, the online catalog of rare, unique, and uncommon scholarly Catholic materials in the library collections of the member institutions of the Atla/CRRA program. An ever-growing number of the items listed may contain links to the full text!

An independent organization from its founding in 2008 until 2023, the Atla/CRRA program webpage will also connect you to the Catholic News Archive, and to the program's growing collection of LibGuides to assist users in locating scholarly research materials.

Atla/CRRA Program

Welcome

This research guide is designed to point users of the Gumberg Library to the best sources on Liberation Theology. It highlights important texts and introductory books in print and eBook formats. It also give basic information from reference works, and links to theology and philosophy databases which the user can use to find magazine and journal articles. It also gives information on citation and on how to get materials not available at the Gumberg Library.

Use the tabs at the top of the screen to move to the different sections of this guide.

Help is Available!

If at any time in your research your need help, Ask Gumberg. Or you can contact me, Ted Bergfelt, the Humanities Librarian. Click to Send Email, or phone me at 412.396.5351.