LibGuides: Ethics of Human Enhancement: Home

image

This research guide will connect you to reference works, print books and ebooks, databases for articles, and other information sources on Human Enhancement.

Definition: "Human enhancement is the process of positively augmenting our abilities, permanently or temporarily. It includes any technology that expands or positively alters our capabilities or appearance: drugs, hormones, implants, genetic engineering or some surgeries" (SIENNA Project website)

Introductory Articles

Please enter your Multipass username and password when prompted

Reference Works

Please enter your Multipass username and password when prompted

Bioethics, 4th Edition
Publication Date: 2014
Ebook. Click title to read
Encyclopedia of Science,Technology and Ethics
Publication Date: 2005
Ebook. Click title to read
Philosophy: Medical Ethics by Craig M. Klugman (Editor)
Publication Date: 2016
Ebook: Click title to read

Selected Books

Please enter your Multipass username and password when prompted

Better Than Human: The Problems and Perils of Enhancing Ourselves by Allen Buchanan
Publication Date: 2011
Ebook. Click title to read
Biotechnology and the Human Good by C. Ben Mitchell
Publication Date: 2007
Ebook. Click title to read
Enhancing Me: The Hope and the Hype of Human Enhancement by Pete Moore
Publication Date: 2008
Ebook. Click title to read
Human Enhancement by Julian Savulescu (Editor)
Publication Date: 2009
Ebook. Click title to read
Reshaping the Human Condition: Exploring Human Enhancement by leon Zoneveld (editor)
Call Number: RC343 .R47 2008x
Publication Date: 2008

Find Books

Click on any link below to run a search in the online catalog, for all books and other materials on that subject in, or accessible through, the Gumberg Library.

Selected Journals

Please enter your Multipass username and password when prompted

Find Articles

Please enter your Multipass username and password when prompted

How do you find full text?

Health Databases

PubMed @ Duquesne This link opens in a new window Enables you to connect directly to Gumberg Library holdings via PubMed. PubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, as well as the out-of-scope citations from certain MEDLINE journals; citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing; and some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) This link opens in a new window Indexing for more than 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, this database contains more than 2.9 million records dating back to 1981, as well as complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses’ Association: health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.
Embase This link opens in a new window Covers the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day and all articles are indexed in depth using Elsevier's Life Science thesaurus Embase Indexing and Emtree®.

Other Databases

Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Offers full text for more than 2,000 serials, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. This multi-disciplinary database covers virtually every area of academic study. More than 100 journals have PDF images back to 1985.
Atla Religion This link opens in a new window The premier index for journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion, with coverage from 1949 and retrospective indexing for several journal issues as far back as the nineteenth century. Journals are selected for inclusion according to their scholarly merit and scope.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window A bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews. Updated quarterly.
Philosophy Documentation Center (POIESIS) This link opens in a new window Access to the full text of a growing number of philosophy journals and serials, containing over 2,300 issues and 340,000 pages of text from 53 journals and series, and most of these are not available in electronic format from any other service. Also provides publishing services.
Religion Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Provides a wide range of primarily full-text periodicals and other sources for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many worldwide religions. As well as scholarly journals there are many titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
Scopus This link opens in a new window The largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. indexes content from 24,600 active titles and 5,000 publishers which is rigorously vetted and selected by an independent review board, and uses a rich underlying metadata architecture to connect people, published ideas and institutions.

Find Dissertations

Please enter your Multipass username and password when prompted

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global This link opens in a new window

Ethics of Human Enhancement: Home

image

Introductory Articles

Reference Works

Selected Books

Find Books

Selected Journals

Find Articles

Health Databases

Other Databases

Find Dissertations

Web Resources

The Scientific and Ethical Elements of Human Enhancement

Need Help?