LibGuides: Government Documents & Information: Find Government Documents

Finding U.S. and International Government Documents

There are several locations where U.S. governmental information and documents are kept - this is true both on a federal and state-based/local level. In addition to U.S. documents, there are also international resources relating to global governing bodies such as the United Nations, European Union, and more.

Navigating these resources can be challenging. See below for a list of online resources in finding government documents and statistical information.

Federal Resources

A-Z Index of Federal Agencies
Find contact information for U.S. federal government departments and agencies including websites, emails, phone numbers, addresses, and more.
CGP (Catalog of Government Publications)
The Catalog of Government Publications provides a searchable resource of U.S. governmental publications - current and historical.
Govinfo
Govinfo provides public access to full-text and authenticated documents produced by the U.S. Government.
GPO MetaLib (search engine of Gov databases)
A federated search engine for searching 54 different government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online.
Library of Congress
An agency of the legislative branch of the U.S. government, the Library of Congress is the largest library in the world.
NARA - National Archives
United States National Archives and Records Administration. Search the online catalog for which record group and finding air for material.
USA.GOV (Government Search Engine)
To improve the general public’s access to government information by providing hosted search services for more than 300 government affiliate organizations.

Local, Regional, and State Resources

Allegheny County
Official web site for Allegheny County. Links to employment, taxpayer guides, parks, elected officials, and other county agencies and services.
City of Pittsburgh
Links to Mayor's Office, City Council, City Services, Attractions, Press Releases. Includes maps and travel directions, details on redevelopment projects, city directory, etc.
Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
Official state site for Pennsylvania. Links for business, employment, education, recreation, health care, etc.
Directory of Pennsylvania Agencies
A comprehensive list of PA agencies and websites for each department.
PA Bulletin
The Pennsylvania Bulletin is the Commonwealth’s official gazette for information and rulemaking.
PA Department of Revenue Forms and Publications
Forms for businesses, individuals, income tax, and other necessary documents are available here.

International Resources

CIA World Factbook
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
Country Information - International Monetary Fund (IMF)
Provides information on member country's relations with the Fund (e.g. when it joined, its quota size, disbursements and payments).
European Union (EU)
Portal site of the European Union. Covers current European Union affair and all legislation currently in force or under discussion. Links to EU institutions' websites and policies.
United Nations (UN)
The United Nations is committed to maintaining international peace and security, developing friendly relations among nations and promoting social progress, better living standards and human rights.
The World Bank
One of the world's largest sources of development assistance, with a focus on helping the poorest people and the poorest countries.
World Trade Organization (WTO)
A global international organization which deals with the rules of trade between nations. Its goal is to assist producers of goods and services, exporters, and importers conduct their business.