LibGuides: Evidence-Based Management Principles: Gumberg Library Resources: Home

Additional Sources

In addition to the Major Management Literature Databases, the following links may be useful for accessing text-based information:

Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest's collection of over 200,000 full-text ebooks.

Google Scholar
*Set your Google Scholar Preferences
Use this link to go to the page that sets your Google Scholar preferences to work with Duquesne databases

Major Management Literature Databases at Gumberg Library

Gumberg Library provides access to a variety of databases for students both on-campus and off-campus. For off-campus students, you may be prompted for your multipass username and password when searching library databases.

ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Search nearly 1800 worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
The industry's most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Updated daily.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature, including searchable and browsable tables of contents and full text articles from both multidisciplinary and discipline-specific journal collections.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
The largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. indexes content from 24,600 active titles and 5,000 publishers which is rigorously vetted and selected by an independent review board, and uses a rich underlying metadata architecture to connect people, published ideas and institutions.

Getting the Best Available Evidence

Determining which literature is most important:

Use the "peer reviewed" or "scholarly" limiters in the research databases
Scan the abstract to see what kind of study (longitudinal, cross-sectional, etc.) the author used
Look for signs of bias in the abstract
Consider the reputation of the journal (Harvard Business Review)

Tips from:

Rousseau, D.M. & Barends, E.G.R. (2011) Becoming an evidence-based HR practitioner, Human Resource Management Journal, 21(3), 221-235. doi:10.1111/j.1748-8583.2011.00173.x

PowerPoint from 5-19

PowerPoint from 5-19-2012 Session