> Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Death of a Salesman: A Research Guide: Home

Arthur Miller. Photo by the U.S. State Department. Public domain. Source: Wikimedia Commons


Editions of the Play


DVDs

These may be borrowed for one week using your Duquesne ID.

Welcome to this Gumberg Library research guide on Arthur Miller's play, Death of A Salesman. It will point users to electronic reference works (great for finding background information); links that search the QuickSearch online catalog books on the playwright and his play, as well as on themes encountered in the play; and links to databases for finding articles in literary databases, and the databases of related disciplines. The guide also provides information on citation and how to obtain materials not available at the Gumberg Library.

Use the tabs at the top of the guide to access the different sorts of information.

If at any time in your research your need help, Ask Gumberg. Or you can contact me, Ted Bergfelt, the Humanities Librarian. Click to Send Email, or phone me at 412.396.5351.


E-Reference Works

Click on the title of a work below to use it.

To use any of these electronic reference books off-campus, you will need to enter your Multipass username and password when you click on a title link.


Online Reference Collections

Both of these collections of resources can be accessed off-campus, but you will have to enter your Multipass username and password word in order to use them.

Gale Literature Resource Center

This database provides information on thousands of authors and literary works. It includes biographies, reviews and news, literary criticism, and topic and work overviews.

Literature Online (LION)

Along with the full text of of 350,000 English and American works of literature, this database provides articles from 200 full-text literary journals and other key critical and reference resources.

ProQuest One Literature

For literature scholars who need an exhaustive set of scholarly resources around a literary topic for research and course planning. 500,000 primary works and millions of records from journals, monographs, and dissertations.

Find Articles: Literature Databases

All of these resources can be accessed from off-campus, but you will need to enter your Multipass username and password in order to use them.