Skip to main content

Coronavirus : Learn More

This guide is meant to provide educational resources about coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19).

Coronavirus

Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19)    

This guide presents information for students and faculty interested in doing research about COVID-19. For Duquesne University’s official response see the
Duquesne University Update Regarding COVID-19.

Getting Started

Getting Started

In February 2020 the World Health Organization named the disease COVID-19 (coronavirus disease 2019). The virus that causes COVID-19 is "severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2" (SARS-CoV-2). It was previously referred to as 2019-nCoV.


Public Health Sites 

Allegheny County Department of Health

Pennsylvania Department of Health

US Centers for Disease Control (CDC)

World Health Organization (WHO)


Maps 

Allegheny County COVID-19 Map

Pennsylvania County Map

Johns Hopkins University COVID-19 Map

WHO COVID-19 Dashboard/Map 

List of COVID-19 Dashboards/Maps
Links to global & local/country maps


Publisher Sites

Information websites from selected publishers:

American Medical Association

Elsevier Science

The Lancet

New England Journal of Medicine

Ovid 

Springer Nature 

Wiley


News Sources

Selected news sources:

Newspaper Source
40+ US & international newspapers

U.S. Newsstream
900+ US newspapers

International Newsstream
600+ international newspapers

Covid Tracking Project (The Atlantic)
Tracks testing results at a state level

 

 

Health Sciences Research

Researching COVID-19

Use the following search terms to begin your research on COVID-19:

“coronavirus 2019” OR “2019 ncov” OR ncov OR “covid 19” OR “severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2” OR “sars cov 2” OR “novel coronavirus”


Health Sciences Databases 

PubMed@Duquesne
Major biomedical database. 40+ publishers provide free access to COVID-19 / coronavirus articles in PubMed Central.

Embase
Major biomedical database with strong international coverage

Global Index Medicus
Additional international biomedical coverage. Does not link to Duquesne holdings.

Scopus
Biomedical plus additional science & engineering coverage

EBSCOhost Health Sciences Databases
Biomedical with additional coverage in nursing, pharmacy, & psychology

CORD-19 Explorer
Searches the COVID-19 Open Research Dataset using AI


Preprint Servers

Preliminary studies that are not yet peer-reviewed. Preprints help you track emerging research but do not represent established clinical practice or science.

COVID-19 SARS-CoV-2 preprints from medRxiv and bioRxiv
Constantly updating links to new studies about SARS-CoV-2 / COVID-19

bioRxiv
Biology preprints. Created by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory.

medRxiv
Health sciences preprints. Created by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, Yale, & BMJ.


Other Databases 

Try one of the databases below or visit Gumberg Library's All Databases A-Z page for a full list of databases available.

Getting Help

Getting Help

We encourage Duquesne students, faculty & staff who need help with their research to contact us:

Ask Gumberg
Phone, Text, Online Chat

Appointment with a Librarian
Available via Teleconference or Phone

Chat with a Librarian
24/7 Help when Gumberg is not available

Scopus Article Feed

Staying Current

Click feed below to see new articles about COVID-19 added to PubMed:

Loading ...

To see full text links, login to PubMed/NCBI. For more information, see "Note for NCBI Users" at the bottom of the Finding Full Text in PubMed page.

 


Additional Feeds 

COVID-19 Portfolio Tool
Articles & preprints from PubMed, arXiv, bioRxiv, ChemRxiv, medRxiv, Research Square & SSRN, curated by NIH 

LitCovid
Hub for COVID-19 & related coronavirus literature in PubMed, curated by NLM

Scitrus
AI-generated feed produced by Wiley/Atypon

Getting Help

Fighting Misinformation

Selected trustworthy sources that debunk COVID-19 rumors:

Allegheny County Health Department

Centers for Disease Control

Federal Emergency Management Agency

World Health Organization

Access Limited

Access to selected resources is limited to currently registered Duquesne University students, faculty & staff.