Albert Camus, Simone de Beauvoir, Jacques Derrida, Martin Heidegger, Edmund Husserl, Emannuel Levinas, Maurice Merleau-Ponty, Jean-Paul Sartre
"Continental Philosophy" is an umbrella term which is used to refer to a number of more specific schools of thought that arose in Europe in the 19th and 20th centuries, including Deconstructionism, Existentialism, The Frankfurt School, German Idealism, Hermeneutics, Phenomenology, and Structuralism and Poststructuralism. This guide will quickly link the researcher to introductory articles on Continental Philosophy (CF) in general and on the more specific schools of thought from authoritative reference works, and will also connect the researcher to entire reference works, mainly electronic, on CF and on the individual schools. The guide includes links to appropriate Ebooks from the Very Short Introductions series from Oxford University Press, and, along with these, presents to the the user other research guides on related topics. Finally, this guide will give you guidance on how to take the next step in researching topics in books and articles on Continental Philosophy.
To read some of these articles, you will need to enter your Multipass username and password when you click the link
Reference Works
To read Ebooks, you will need to enter your Multipass username and password when you click the title
Continental Philosophy
A Companion to Continental Philosophy by 
The Continuum Companion to Continental Philosophy by 
The Edinburgh Dictionary of Continental Philosophy by 
The Oxford Handbook of Continental Philosophy by To read Ebooks, you will need to enter your Multipass username and password when you click the title
A Companion to Phenomenology and Existentialism by 
Historical Dictionary of Existentialism by 
The SAGE Handbook of Frankfurt School Critical Theory by 
The Palgrave Handbook of German Idealism and Existentialism by 
The Cambridge Companion to Hermeneutics by 
The Routledge Companion to Hermeneutics by A Companion to Phenomenology and Existentialism by 
The Oxford Handbook of Contemporary Phenomenology by The Palgrave Handbook of German Idealism and Existentialism by To read Ebooks, you will need to enter your Multipass username and password when you click the title
Dictionary of Untranslatables: A Philosophical Lexicon by 
Encyclopedia of Philosophy, 2nd ed. by 
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy by Available in this database are many Very Short Introductions on individual Continental Philosophers. Visit the database and search by a philosopher's name to see the volume(s) on them,.
Continental Philosophy: A Very Short Introduction by If at any time you need help with using Gumberg Library resources, please contact Ted Bergfelt, Humanities Librarian, via email or by phone at 412-426-5430, 8:30 am-4:30 pm ET, Monday-Friday. If he is not available, Ask Gumberg
This research guide was created by Maria Sosso, English Department Intern, and Ted Bergfelt, MLS, Humanities Librarian, May 2021
