Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases for Communication Ethics
Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) This link opens in a new window
Provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews. Updated quarterly.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, coverage dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers.
Books on Communication Ethics
Communication Ethics in Dark Times by
Call Number: Gumberg 3rd Floor JC251 .A74 A84 2013
Publication Date: 2012-12-11
Renowned in the disciplines of political theory and philosophy, Hannah Arendt's searing critiques of modernity continue to resonate in other fields of thought decades after she wrote them. In Communication Ethics in Dark Times: Hannah Arendt's Rhetoric of Warning and Hope, author Ronald C. Arnett offers a groundbreaking examination of fifteen of Arendt's major scholarly works, considering the German writer's contributions to the areas of rhetoric and communication ethics for the first time.
Communication Ethics and Crisis by
Call Number: Gumberg 2nd Floor P94 .C5696 2012
Publication Date: 2011-12-19
This collection of essays extends the conversation on communication ethics and crisis communication to offer practical wisdom for meeting the challenges of a complex and ever-changing world. In multiple contexts ranging from the intrapersonal, interpersonal, and family to the political and public, moments of crisis call us to respond from within particular standpoints that shape our understanding and our response to crisis as we grapple with contested notions of the good in our shared life together. With no agreed-upon set of absolutes to guide us, this moment calls us to learn from difference as we seek resources to continue the human conversation as we engage the unexpected. This collection of essays invites multiple epistemological and methodological standpoints to consider alternative ways of thinking about communication ethics and crisis.
Handbook of Communication Ethics by
Call Number: ON ORDER
Publication Date: 2010-12-01
The Handbook of Communication Ethics serves as a comprehensive guide to the study of communication and ethics. It brings together analyses and applications based on recognized ethical theories as well as those outside the traditional domain of ethics but which engage important questions of power, equality, and justice.
The Ethics and Politics of Speech by
Call Number: Gumberg 2nd Floor P95.4 .U6 G35 2009
Publication Date: 2009-10-20
In The Ethics and Politics of Speech, Pat J. Gehrke provides an accessible yet intensive history of the speech communication discipline during the twentieth century. Drawing on several previously unpublished or unexamined sources, including essays, conference proceedings, and archival documents, Gehrke traces the evolution of communication studies and the dilemmas that often have faced academics in this field.
Communication Ethics Literacy by
Call Number: Gumberg 2nd Floor P94 .A67 2009
Publication Date: 2008-08-04
This comprehensive and engaging treatment of communication ethics combines student application and theoretical engagement. Communication Ethics Literacy: Dialogue and Difference reviews classic communication ethics approaches and extends the conversation about dialogue and difference in public and private life.
National Communication Ethics Conference