LibGuides: Evidence-Based Medicine &amp; Practice (EBM/EBP): Background Information

Background Information

While at the bottom of the EBM/EBP pyramid, background information is still essential to health sciences literature. The purpose of this information is to provide background surrounding the PICO elements of your clinical question. This could be framed in many different ways, such as:

Defining terms, conditions, or other language that may be considered jargon
Providing examples of specific treatments/interventions
Explaining the historical significance surrounding a particular practice

By providing this information, you're able to contextualize the importance of your clinical question's individual components, and how they may relate to one another.

Databases

The following databases can be used to find background information. Evidence in these resources may vary from expert opinion to high levels of evidence.

For more options, check out our Background Sources in the Health Sciences guide.

AccessAnethesiology This link opens in a new window offers a new approach to anesthesiology reference, research, and curricular instruction all in one place. Updated regularly, this comprehensive online anesthesiology resource covers the entire spectrum of anesthesiology from the basics to specialty-specific content optimized for viewing on any device.
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Provides a variety of resources needed to excel in basic science studies and clerkships; instant access to videos, self-assessment, and leading medical textbooks with optimized content for any mobile device.
AccessMedicine Case Files Collection This link opens in a new window Cases in Case Files Collection provides materials for short, targeted case-based learning. They vary slightly, but for each case you get a patient history and systems review, short answer questions, clinical pearls, and references. Cases are durable URL-enabled and can be embedded into a course LMS page. The results of the quizzes can be emailed and collected for a grade, e.g. student to instructor. Cases in Case Files Collection are organized into categories and based off different resources, including: Basic Science Cases Clinical Rotation Cases Post-Graduate Cases NOTE: Accessing the AccessMedicine Case Files Collection requires you to sign in using MyAccess.
AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window Provides access to pharmacy textbooks, videos, games, cases, Q&A, NAPLEX review, and other resources that support pharmacy students as well as practicing pharmacists.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Elsevier’s ClinicalKey gives you access to quick answers at the point of care alongside trusted, comprehensive medical evidence. It includes clinical overviews, full-text books and journals, drug information, procedure videos, clinical calculators, patient education handouts, practice guidelines, clinical trials, and MEDLINE® citations and abstracts. Physicians can earn and claim CME.
ClinicalKey Student This link opens in a new window ClinicalKey Student enables deeper insights into student performance, personalized feedback and improved student engagement. A multi-purpose learning environment for both faculty and students, where users can assess, study and review in a single platform.
Lexicomp Online (Clinical Reference Library) This link opens in a new window Contains full text drug information resources and other health care information.
LWW Health Library: Board Review Series This link opens in a new window The LWW Health Library Board Review Series covers material in the primary basic sciences—such as gross anatomy, embryology, neuroscience, and more—that are addressed on the USMLE Step 1 exam. Textbooks and self-assessments are geared specifically to test prep success.
LWW Health Library: Clerkship/Clinical Rotations This link opens in a new window LWW Health Library: Clerkship/Clinical Rotations offers a comprehensive content collection targeting each of the core clinical rotations, from Internal Medicine to OB/GYN. Ideal for seeing principles in action with patients and prepping for board exams.
LWW Health Sciences: Medical Education This link opens in a new window This resource includes the LWW Health Library: Premium Basic Sciences Collection & the LWW Health Library: Osteopathic Medicine Collection, as well as combining the Integrated Basic Sciences collection, the Lippincott Illustrated Review book series, the gold-standard Bates’ Guide to Physical Examination & History Taking, and more.
Micromedex Healthcare Series This link opens in a new window A wide range of clinical databases, including unbiased, referenced information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window Login with your UpToDate username and password. First Time Users must register before logging in. See the