LibGuides: Chemistry and Biochemistry: Web Resources

Web Resources

Chemical Resources

See below for resources in searching and identifying chemical compounds and structures.

ChemExper Chemical Dictionary Conduct searches on chemical names and structures. You can also access the chemical directory.
ChemIDplus ChemIDplus is a free, web search system that provides access to the structure and nomenclature authority files used for the identification of chemical substances cited in National Library of Medicine (NLM) databases. ChemIDplus also has structure searching and direct links to resources at NLM, federal agencies, U.S. states, and scientific sites. The database contains more than 400,000 chemical records, of which over 300,000 include chemical structures.
ChemSpider ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 100 million structures from hundreds of data sources.
Common Chemistry - CAS CAS Common Chemistry is an open community resource for accessing chemical information. Nearly 500,000 chemical substances from CAS REGISTRY® cover areas of community interest, including common and frequently regulated chemicals, and those relevant to high school and undergraduate chemistry classes. This chemical information, curated by our expert scientists, is provided in alignment with our mission as a division of the American Chemical Society.
Green Chemistry - EPA Green chemistry is the design of chemical products and processes that reduce or eliminate the generation of hazardous substances. EPA's efforts to speed the adoption of this revolutionary and diverse discipline have led to significant environmental benefits, innovation and a strengthened economy.
IUPAC-NIST Solubility Database Mutual solubilities and liquid-liquid equilibria of binary, ternary and quaternary systems are presented. Typical solvents and solutes include water, sea water, heavy water, inorganic compounds, and a variety of organic compounds such as hydrocarbons, halogenated hydrocarbons, alcohols, acids, esters and nitrogen compounds. For many systems, sufficient data were available to allow critical evaluation. Data are expressed as mass and mole fractions as well as the originally reported units.
IUPAC Compendium of Chemical Terminology Terminology definitions published by IUPAC are drafted by international committees of experts in the appropriate chemistry sub-disciplines, and ratified by IUPAC's Interdivisional Committee on Terminology, Nomenclature and Symbols (ICTNS). In this edition of the Compendium these IUPAC-approved definitions are supplemented with some definitions from ISO and from the International Vocabulary of Basic and General Terms in Metrology; both these sources are recognised by IUPAC as authoritative. The result is a collection of nearly 7000 terms, with authoritative definitions, spanning the whole range of chemistry.
NIST Chemistry WebBook The NIST Chemistry WebBook was developed in part with funds from the Systems Integration for Manufacturing Applications (SIMA) program at NIST.
Organic Chemistry Portal The Organic Chemistry Portal offers an overview of recent topics, interesting reactions, and information on important chemicals for organic chemists.
PTable Interactive periodic table showing names, electrons, and oxidation states. Visualize trends, 3D orbitals, isotopes, and mix compounds.
SynArchive SynArchive is a free web based application that allows you to browse a growing database of organic syntheses. Unlike most chemical synthesis shown on the web, the sequence of reactions is clear, precise and unambiguous.

Biochemistry Resources

These databases, charts, and documents outline relevant information related to biochemistry.

Binding Database BindingDB is a public, web-accessible database of measured binding affinities, focusing chiefly on the interactions of protein considered to be drug-targets with small, drug-like molecules. As of July 24, 2022, BindingDB contains 41,296 Entries, each with a DOI, containing 2,546,129 binding data for 8,821 protein targets and 1,093,579 small molecules.
Biochemical Pathways - Roche A searchable, interactive compilation of biochemical pathways.
ENZYME ENZYME is a repository of information relative to the nomenclature of enzymes. It is primarily based on the recommendations of the Nomenclature Committee of the International Union of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (IUBMB) and it describes each type of characterized enzyme for which an EC (Enzyme Commission) number has been provided.
GenBank (NCBI) GenBank is the NIH genetic sequence database, an annotated collection of all publicly available DNA sequences.
Human Metabolome Database (HMDB) The Human Metabolome Database (HMDB) is a freely available electronic database containing detailed information about small molecule metabolites found in the human body. It is intended to be used for applications in metabolomics, clinical chemistry, biomarker discovery and general education. The database is designed to contain or link three kinds of data: 1) chemical data, 2) clinical data, and 3) molecular biology/biochemistry data.
Lipid Maps LIPID MAPS® Lipidomics Gateway was created in 2003 via an NIH “Glue Grant” to provide access to lipid nomenclature, databases, tools, protocols, standards, tutorials, meetings, publications, and other resources and serving the international lipid research community.
Metabolic Pathways - Sigma Aldrich Zoomable diagram detailing the metabolic pathways.
National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) The National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information. This is a division of the National Library of Medicine.
Nucleic Acid Database (NDB) The NDB contains information about experimentally-determined nucleic acids and complex assemblies. Use the NDB to perform searches based on annotations relating to sequence, structure and function, and to download, analyze, and learn about nucleic acids.
Protein Data Bank (PDB) RCSB PDB (RCSB.org) is the US data center for the global Protein Data Bank (PDB) archive of 3D structure data for large biological molecules (proteins, DNA, and RNA) essential for research and education in fundamental biology, health, energy, and biotechnology.

Educational Resources

These sites provide helpful information for those looking to teach chemistry, and provide demonstrations for how to approach certain topics.

Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre - Training & Educational Resources The CCDC and our colleagues continually produce educational materials for use in classroom and computer lab settings, or as independent study modules. Many of these materials make use of the Teaching Subset - a freely available set of over 750 structures that can be investigated with the free version of our Mercury visualisation and analysis program. Of course, our database of over one million entries are available for free through our Access Structures portal.
ChemCollective As a project in the National Science Digital Library (NSDL), the ChemCollective's goals are to support a community of instructors interested in improving chemistry education through interactive and engaging online activities.
Chemical Demonstrations - Texas A&M This guide from Texas A&M University outlines some exemplary videos and safety sheets for chemical demonstrations.