LibGuides: Gumberg for Alumni, Retirees, &amp; Guest Borrowers: Alumni Services

For Duquesne Alumni living in the Pittsburgh region:

Alumni can complete the alumni card request form here: https://duq.libwizard.com/f/alumni
You will receive an email notification when your card is available for pickup. Please note that it may take up to 2 business days to confirm alumni status.
Please bring photo ID and stop at the 4th floor circulation desk to pick up your card. Cards cannot be mailed.

Alumni Library Privileges

Upon verification of alumni status and registration in the library's user database, alumni are afforded the following library privileges:

Visit Gumberg Library

Your alumni card gives you access to Gumberg Library anytime we are open, even during swipe-only access hours!
See our hours: https://calendar.library.duq.edu/hours

Borrow Gumberg Library Physical Materials

Circulating books may be checked out for 4 weeks, with one 4 week renewal permitted
Materials from other collections (Curriculum Center, Audiovisuals, Phenomenology Center, Library of Things) circulate according to their respective time frames
A maximum of 20 items may be checked out at a given time
Renewals may be requested in person or over the phone at 412.396.6130

Online Resources

Gumberg library's extensive collection of databases is only accessible onsite. For offsite alumni, here is a list of reputable and freely available databases, repositories, and other online resources.

Databases

Many of these databases provide free access to selected articles. If an article you need is available for a fee, checkout the Tools for Finding Full Text section of this guide to see if you might be able to get the article for free.

AGRICOLA
AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) is produced by the National Agricultural Library. It includes journal article citations and abstracts as well as records for books and other content.
more...less...
AGRICOLA covers agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.
ERIC
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) includes education information and research. This free version is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the US Department of Education.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
JSTOR - Open Journals
JSTOR's "collection of Open Access journals cover topical areas in sustainability and security studies, and offer broad coverage in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences."
JSTOR for Independent Researchers
"A registered personal account is a free account that enables you to access, cite, and return to JSTOR content. Your personal account may support your research in a variety of ways depending on your role and affiliations."
MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus produced by the National Library of Medicine. It is an online health information resource for patients and their families and friends.
PubMed
PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally. The PubMed database contains more than 30 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature.
more...less...
For more information about finding full text in PubMed, see How to obtain the full text of an article
PubMed @ Duquesne Tutorial Video
This video shows how to access PubMed @ Duquesne as well as how to conduct a search, apply filters, and find full text. Note: PubMed @ Duquesne can be accessed by alumni. However, the full text options using LibKey Nomad and Browzine are only available to current students.

Online Books and Archival Collections

Books Online - Smithsonian Libraries
Classic works and primary sources. "Most books available here are in the Public Domain unless otherwise noted, and are therefore free to download, use, re-use, and re-mix without regard to copyright."
Catholic Research Resources Alliance
Founded in 2008, CRRA is a nonprofit (501c3) membership alliance of institutions collaborating to deliver projects and services in support of its mission "to provide enduring global access to Catholic research resources in the Americas."
CIA World Factbook
"The World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities."
Directory of Open Access Books
"DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available."
Encyclopedia.com
"At Encyclopedia.com, you get free access to over 300,000 reference entries from sources you can cite. Plus, more than 50,000 topic summaries feature related pictures, videos, topic summaries, and newspaper and magazine articles from around the world."
Google Books
Google Books offers a simple way to search the full text of books and magazines that have been uploaded online.
Hathi Trust
"HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world."
Internet Archive
"The Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more"
The Internet Public Library
"IPL offers a starting point for anyone doing research on the Internet. Main collections include reference, exhibits, magazines and serials, newspapers, online texts, web searching, and extensive teen and youth collections."
JSTOR - Open Access Books
"More than 9,000 Open Access books from 100+ publishers, including Brill, Cornell University Press, De Gruyter, and University of California Press, are now available at no cost to libraries or users."
Library of Congress - Open Access Books
"This is a growing collection of contemporary open access e-books. The books in this collection cover a wide range of subjects, including history, music, poetry, technology, and works of fiction. All books added to this collection underwent a selection process whereby subject matter experts from across the Library of Congress determined which works were in scope based on the Library's Collections Policy Statements."
Many Books
This collection of ebooks has older popular books and modern classics.
Open Library
"Open Library is an open, editable library catalog, building towards a web page for every book ever published."
Power Library
Power Library is a "statewide online catalog and interlibrary loan service that facilitates resource sharing among more than 1,500 Pennsylvania libraries."
Note: A library card from a Pennsylvania public library or eCard from the State Library of Pennsylvania is needed to use this resource.

Tools for Finding Full Text

The tools below can help you find freely available full text. Libaries can help you get articles that are not freely available. See the Finding a Library section of this guide to find a libary that can help you.

Core Discovery
Browser extension that helps you find open access articles
EndNote Click
Browser extension that helps you find open access articles

more...
Google Scholar Button
A browser extension that helps you to find open articles when using Google Scholar

more...
Open Access Button
Browser extension that helps you find open access articles
Unpaywall
Browser extension that helps you find open access articles

When you can't find a free copy...

Contact the corresponding author directly to request a copy
See the Full Text Articles section of this guide to check other possible sources
Go to the Finding a Library section of this guide to find a library that can help you

Curriculum Center Alumni Privileges

One of the special benefits afforded Duquesne University Alumni is the ability to use the Curriculum Center!

Whether you've just started teaching and need to make a few bulletin boards or you've been teaching for years and want to explore a new curriculum, you are welcome to visit the Curriculum Center and explore our resources.

Please visit the Curriculum Center's webpage to view more details regarding alumni privileges.

Health Sciences Alumni Privileges

Gumberg Library offers many resources to health sciences alumni after graduation. Please review our Health Sciences Alumni Guide to find links to free resources and tips on how to get information that’s not freely available. If you have questions, please contact us at Ask Gumberg!