Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

African American Writers: Modern Writers

Picture Credits 

Alex Haley, https://hti.osu.edu/history-lesson-plans/american-history/african-slave-trade/my-furthest-back-person-alex-haley

Maya Angelou, https://www.biography.com/people/maya-angelou-9185388

Toni Morrison, https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Toni_Morrison_2008-2.jpg

John Edgar Wideman, http://www.mprnews.org/story/2009/02/06/midmorning2

Alice Walker, https://www.bookstr.com/happy-birthday-alice-walker

Octavia Butler, https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Octavia_E._Butler_Conference_2016_Spelman_College.png

E. Lynn Harris, http://www.windycitymediagroup.com/lgbt/Passages-E-Lynn-Harris-dead-at-54/21970.html

Edwidge Danticat, https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Edwidge_Danticat_by_David_Shankbone.jpg

Terrance Hayes, https://www.poets.org/poetsorg/poet/terrance-hayes

Picture Credits 

James Baldwin, https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/James_Baldwin#/media/File:Jamesbaldwin.jpg

Lorraine Hansberry, https://www.brooklynmuseum.org/exhibitions/lorraine_hansberry

Amiri Baraka, https://www.biography.com/people/amiri-baraka-9198235

Nikki Giovanni, https://thecreativeindependent.com/people/nikki-giovanni-on-trusting-your-own-voice/

August Wilson, https://www.portlandplayhouse.org/august-wilson/

RIta Dove, https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Rita_Dove_(24921276278).jpg

Natasha Trethewey, https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Natasha_Trethewey_014.JPG

Danzy Senna, https://www.newyorker.com/books/page-turner/danzy-sennas-new-black-woman

Ta-Nehisi Coates, https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/Category:Ta-Nehisi_Coates#/media/File:Ta-Nehisi_Coates.jpg